I’m Not Really Freaking Out Anymore (+ things are changing round here!)

silent in the trees #tรธp

A post shared by @mixolydianmusings on

You might remember that a few weeks ago, when I was just starting college, I wrote a couple of not-too-cheery posts about how I was feeling (original here and update here – short version, I was terrified and missing everybody and questioning my choice slightly). Now, a month on, I’m feeling very different indeed so I thought I’d give you a final little update bit, in case you were vaguely interested or felt like me when you first started college.

So, first things first – I mentioned I was thinking about it in my update post but I’ve now swapped from Environmental Systems & Societies to Biology (at standard level). I’m enjoying it so far – this sounds kinda twisted but I’ve always struggled a bit with biology, especially during GCSE and I kinda like having the familiarity of that challenge?? I don’t really understand myself but I’m finding it OK so yeah, that’s the main thing. Other than that, I’ve kept my subjects the same and am enjoying almost all of them – we all have a bit of an issue with our maths studies teacher but other than that it’s all good, especially Spanish and Film Studies! (I’m actually actively looking forward tomorrow because I only have two lessons – we’re writing and filming telenovelas in Spanish and then learning how to use the cameras and shooting our film noir we’ve been working on for the past few lessons in Film Studies so that should be fun.) I’ve got the beginnings ofย a group of friends within IB and a group in the extracurricular academic academy thing I do so that’s good, and the Co-op bags of 5 cookies for ยฃ1 are getting very popular.

The missing friends and school, which was a big issue for me to start with has really settled down. I keep in contact with my old friends to varying degrees and have been in to see them at school a couple of times, and I’ve actually found there are some “friends” I don’t miss at all now I’m not forced to see them. It probably also helps a lot of my close friends were from out of school anyway. I do occasionally get pangs of, weirdly, missing GCSEs – I think because the work was easier and there was familiarity and people you’ve known since forever? Idk, it’s weird. College and IB was definitely the right choice for me and obviously I still struggle occasionally but what I’m trying to say is it gets so much easier. Everyone says it and you never believe it but in the last week or so I’ve started feeling so much happier coming home from college and it’s great. I’ve also started trumpet lessons, choir and a thing called Jazz Project at college so I’m just getting to know so many people! So yeah, overall yay ๐Ÿ™‚

Now onto the ‘things changing’ bit…I’m going to start being more organised. Or try to at least. So I’m going to try and post regularly on Tuesdays, Fridays and Sundays, with a bonus ‘music of the month’ post at the end of the month. I don’t know if I’ll set a schedule of what I’m going to post, but I’ll see what evolves over the next few weeks and let youย know!

Thanks for reading this mega rambley vaguely pointless post…

-AOT

PS this is my favourite song atm so you should definitely listen to it…

6 thoughts on “I’m Not Really Freaking Out Anymore (+ things are changing round here!)

  1. Eve @ Twist in the Taile says:

    Yay I’m really glad things have been improving for you! Aah those lessons sound really cool — change is always weird but at least for me I feel like I’m getting back into things. (Although I have had a lot less change than you this year haha.) Ooh I look forward to more music of the month posts, those are always great! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    • An Overthinking Teenager says:

      Hi! I’m so sorry its taken me so long to reply, I’ve kinda been absent from blogging the last couple of months, but if you’re still considering it, I definitely recommend it. A lot of people thought I was crazy to do it, but my first term was OK…I think it’s going to start getting more intense from here though! I don’t regret taking it at all, but you do have to be motivated and organised. Maybe try and go to an open evening where you’d be taking it if that’s different to where you are now and get a feel for it? And you’re always welcome to email me via my contact page with any questions! Hope that helps ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Say Hello!

