An A-Z Of My Music Library {the 2016 edition}

As, well, probably very few of you remember, maybe a year ago I did an A-Z of my music library. As you’ve probably (hopefully…) guessed, I’ve decided to have another go, and do an updated 2016 version. Because, well, it’s 2016, and I only recently stopped using Spotify Premium and all my music got screwed up when I got my new phone, this is actually from my Spotify library. Anyhow, without further ado…


 

A // Best: Ain’t Got Far To Go – Jess Glynne or Adore – Jasmine Thompson (yes, I am incapable of sticking to only one song)

       Worst: All Fired Up – The Saturdays. When I was younger I really liked The Saturdays but now I can just take them or leave them, really.

 

B // Best: Bloodsport – Raleigh Ritchie or Banana Pancakes – Jack Johnson. Both of these songs just kinda calm me down and help me relax for some reason, plus Banana Pancakes is just full of spring-summer relaxed kinda vibes.

        Worst: Bomfalleralla – Afasi & Filthy. I chose this purely because I don’t actually know what it is, I only have it saved because it was on the The Fault In Our Stars soundtrack. There are a couple of other songs I have saved just because they were on an album, but yeah, I chose this one.

C // Best: Coco (Live) – Lucky Chops. I’m listening to a full Lucky Chops set on YouTube at the moment and omg I just don’t know how I survived without them. Honestly, just the first few bars of one of their songs helps me to smile, breathe more deeply and generally calm down whenever I’m stressed or upset. I could happily spend my whole life listening to them, I love them so much.

        Worst: Dear Future Husband – Meghan Trainor. On the one hand, this song is vaguely catchy; on the other hand, the lyrics are just like what?! Really not helping anything to do with feminism, Meghan *eye roll*

D // Best: Don’t Worry (ft. Ray Dalton) – Madcon. This song just makes me think of exercise and running and stress relief. and that kinda feels like a good thing. Alternatively, I also love Do It Now by Jasmine Thompson and Daniel In The Den by Bastille is kinda the song that I always end up going back to at some point or another.

        Worst: Don’t You Worry Child (ft. Shweta Subram) – The Piano Guys

E // Best: Echoes {Edeema Remix} – Lauren Aquilina. I love Lauren Aquilina and because of her I discovered Edeema and yeah, basically a match made in heaven. This song is amazing.

        Worst: Ex’s & Oh’s – Elle King. I originally really liked this but then I think I heard it on the radio too much and it just got to the point where I hear it and go eugh. Hopefully, eventually I’ll recover and I can like it again :). Another candidate for worst was Everybody Hurts by Paul Anka, just because although I love his ‘Rock Swings’ version of Jump, I don’t think I’ve actually listened to this.

F // Best: Fast Car – Jonas Blue feat. Dakota. This is just the ultimate summer song. Another possibility is I Feel Good/Funkytown by Lucky Chops, except I’ve already waxed lyrical about them, or Fragile by Kygo feat. Labrinth (I’ve got endless heart eyes for that song).

        Worst: Oooohhh this is hard…this feels like treason, but narrowing it down to songs I actually know, maybe Firestone by Kygo? Don’t get me wrong, I like the song and I love Kygo (LESS THAN TWO WEEKS TILL I SEE HIM LIVE) but I never really got the appeal of Firestone – maybe it got too overplayed?

G // Best: Ghost – Halsey (I’ve seriously neglected this song, I need to listen to it way more often) / Games Continued – Bakermat (+the album art for this is so pretty)/

       Worst: Gravity {Acoustic Version} – DJ Fresh feat. Ella Eyre. As much as I love Ella, I just don’t think this song packs quite the same punch or works as well acoustically.

H // Best: SO MANY POSSIBILITIES. Here – Alessia Cara, Hello – Lucky Chops, Heavydirtysoul or House of Gold – Twenty One Pilots, Home – Ella Eyre, Hard Time – Seinabo Sey and Happy Home {Sam Feldt Remix} – Hedegaard/Lukas Graham are all such good candidates I can’t even choose.

        Worst: Home – Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros. Yeah, I used to love this song but now I just always find myself skipping it. Maybe I need to try listening to it the whole way through, or maybe my music tastes have just changed dramatically.

I // Best: I’m A Mess – Ed Sheeran (THAT WAS SO HARD TO CHOOSE JUST ONE YOU HAVE NO IDEA)

        Worst: In The Bath – Lemon Jelly. THIS SONG IS JUST SO WEIRD WHY DID I EVER SAVE IT?!

J // Best: Jubel – Klingande, or Jump – Paul Anka, purely for the 2015 Serbian jazz festival memories.

        Worst: Umumum Just The Way You Are – Billy Joel. This is saved because I’m doing a mini soloeyish bit in jazz orchestra and I don’t mind it but, well, I don’t love it and it can be easily overplayed.

K // Best: King – Lauren Aquilina (the lyrics to this are just so freakin’ good) or Kiss Me – Campsite Dream.

        Worst: Kids – MGMT. I chose this just because I only had about five songs starting with K and I know this is a song that I have to hear to recognise.

L // Best: Love Is Blind – Lapsley, Love Yourself – Justin Bieber, Low – Lauren Aquilina (again, LYRICS)

        Worst: Let It Whip – The Treblemakers {from the Pitch Perfect soundtrack}. This was always one of my least favourite PP songs.

M // Best: Moments – Freddy Verano feat. Sam Smith, Mozart’s House – Clean Bandit feat. Love Ssega, My Girl – Lucky Chops (can someone just take me to see them live already?!), My Song – Alessia Cara.

        Worst: Midnight – Coldplay {Kygo Remix}. Just not really loving the original tbh, and even Kygo can’t make it better.

N// Best: No Strings – Chloe Howl, Nina – Ed Sheeran, Never Forget You – MNEK, (New Americana – Halsey?!), Nobody Does It Better – Michael Calfan

        Worst: Notorious – The Saturdays.

O // Best: One Day (Vandaag) – Bakermat, Out Of Our Depth – Lauren Aquilina

        Worst: Ocean Drive – Duke Dumont, Oceans – Coldplay

P // Best: Pompeii, Poet – Bastille, Problem – Lucky Chops, Past Lives – Borns

        Worst: Photograph {Jack Garratt Remix} – Ed Sheeran

Q // Best: Quarter Master – Snarky Puppy

        Worst: Quarter Master – Snarky Puppy. This is the only song I have for Q so by default, it is both the best and the worst.

R // Best: Raging – Kygo (feat. Kodaline) (I am SO ready for his album), Runaway – Ed Sheeran, Running Out – Matoma

        Worst: Release The Hounds – Centrefolds

S // Best: Scars To Your Beautiful – Alessia Cara. This is one of my absolute favourite songs at the moment. Also: Seeing Stars – Borns, Seventeen – Alessia Cara, Shine – Benjamin Francis Leftwich {Kygo Remix}, Sinners – Lauren Aquilina, Something For Nothing – Rationale, Southern Man – Akshin Alizadeh, Spare Time – Tides, Stole The Show – Kygo, Sun Goes Down – Jasmine Thompson, Superstition – Stevie Wonder. Aka half the songs I have  beginning with S. Ah well.

        Worst: Somebody To You – The Vamps

T // Best: Take It Back – Ed Sheeran, Take On Me – a-Ha {Kygo Remix}, Tenerife Sea – Ed Sheeran, Things We Lost In The Fire/These Streets – Bastille, Thinking Of Sunshine – Daniel Adams Ray, Time To Say Goodbye – Lauren Aquilina

        Worst: Tell Her – Rizzle Kicks

U // Best: U Got The Power – Swiss Lips {Bastille Remix}, Ugly Truth – Lauren Aquilina, Unsteady – X Ambassadors

        Worst: Under The Table – Banks, purely because I don’t know it.

V // Best: Viva La Vida – Coldplay. Because you can’t beat some classic Coldplay.

        Worst: Also, it’s the only song I have beginning with V so…Viva La Vida, Coldplay.

W // Best: What Would You Do – Bastille, When We Were Young – Adele, Wild Things – Alessia Cara, Worry – Jack Garratt, Where Is The Love – The Black Eyed Peas

        Worst: What You’re Proposing – Status Quo {Aquostic} (Sorry, dad…)

 

Y // Best: Younger {Kygo Remix} – Seinabo Sey, Youth – Troye Sivan

        Worst: You Should Know Where I’m Coming From – Banks. I feel like Banks is getting a lot of hate in this post, but I swear it’s because I only really know a few of her songs and don’t have any other options!

Z // Best: Zombie – Jamie T

        Worst: Zoot Suit Riot – Cherry Poppin’ Daddies (I literally only have two songs beginning with Z and I don’t love either so it’s a toss up between the two really)

 

Stuff That Doesn’t Begin With  A Letter // Best: 10,000 Emerald Pools – Borns/(I Just) Died In Your Arms – Bastille

Worst: 30 Days – The Saturdays, “Nessun dorma!” – Luciano Pavarotti (no, I don’t know why it has quote marks around it either, and I only saved it because it was the piece I did for my GCSE ensemble performance, eugh)


 

I think that from that I’ve discovered that a) I have some really, really weird/awful stuff saved to my music library, b) I really like Ed Sheeran and Alessia Cara and c) LUCKY CHOPS ARE SO DAMN GOOD I THINK I’M ADDICTED AND I WANT TO TELL EVERYBODY ABOUT THEM SO GO LISTEN TO THEM NOW. Ahem. So, err, yeah. That’s about it.

(I MEAN IT, GO LISTEN TO LUCKY CHOPS RIGHT NOW. EVEN IF YOU’VE BASICALLY RUN OUT OF DATA AND YOUTUBE WILL USE IT ALL UP, LUCKY CHOPS ARE WORTH IT)(probably)

Thoughts on my picks?

signature2

Instagram // Twitter // Facebook // Bloglovin’

If you liked this, you may like these…

Feeling Happy

Music of the Month: March

My Sister’s Keeper: Thoughts & Playlist

 

11 thoughts on “An A-Z Of My Music Library {the 2016 edition}

  1. Eve @ Twist in the Taile says:

    THIS IS VERY COOL. I have no idea how I would do it since, like, I haven’t downloaded any actual music in ages and I just have a million crazy Spotify playlists. But I am currently 20 seconds into a Lucky Chops song. I WILL LISTEN. It is excellent so far. *nods*

    Like

Say Hello!

