My Sister’s Keeper: Thoughts & Playlist

My Sister's Keeper

OK, as per usual I’m going to do the playlist first so you can check that out without risk of spoilers…but yes, MAJOR SPOILERS IN THE REVIEWY-FLAILY BIT!!! 

Right, now I’ve done that warning, the playlist is on Spotify here, and even if you haven’t read the book I suspect it would work pretty well as a general playlist for crying to, because we all need one of them. Anyhow, here are the songs on it…(oh, and I apologise in advance for the amount of Bastille and Ed Sheeran…)

In no particular order:

Haunt – Bastille 

Afire Love – Ed Sheeran

Eyes Shut – Years & Years

Tenerife Sea – Ed Sheeran

A Thousand Years – Christina Perri

Cool Kids – Echosmith {this one’s for Anna and Jesse, and how they’re always different from everyone else}

I’m A Mess – Ed Sheeran {this also applies to my emotions after finishing the book}

Jar of Hearts – Christina Perri {for Julia about Campbell, YOU EVIL SOMETHING I PROBABLY SHOULDN’T SAY ON HERE}

Catch & Release – Matt Simons (Deepend Remix) {this is for Kate – “It can be terrifying, to be slowly dying, also clarifying, we end where we begin” but I feel it could also apply to each of the Fitzgeralds, with their own coping methods for the events going on around them}

The Call – Regina Spektor {the reason kinda contains spoilers, so highlight the following to see it: this is for the bit when Kate is so nearly dying and they all say goodbye and then they give her arsenic and then she somehow survives}

Love Is Easy – McFly {for Kate and Taylor}

I Will Wait – Mumford & Sons

We Are Young (feat. Janelle Monae)  – fun. {this is for Jesse}

Fix You – Coldplay

Some Nights – fun. {this is just for all the Fitzgeralds, and it mentions stars so yeah it’s basically the perfect fit}

Yellow – Coldplay

Carry On – fun. {I think this is good for Brian and Sara. Plus, tenuous link I know, but it mentions fire…coincidence, I THINK NOT!}

Wonderwall – Oasis

I Just Called To Say I Love You – Stevie Wonder {because a) who can resist a bit of Stevie? and also b) this fits in perfectly with the time when Sara rings Anna at the firehouse}

The Draw – Bastille {this is kinda for the whole idea of Anna having to decide whether to be a kidney donor or not}

Things We Lost In The Fire – Bastille {again, FIRE! (I’m not a pyromaniac, promise)}

Stole The Show – Kygo feat. Parson James {for both Kate and Anna at the end}

Always – Ella Eyre 

Bottled Up Tight – Luke Sital-Singh

Icarus – Bastille {for Jesse}

Get Home – Bastille {for all of the Fitzgeralds, maybe especially Anna and Jesse}

Fragile – Kygo feat. Labrinth {I know this is more about a romantic relationship, but I think the core idea of fragility and whatnot fits pretty well with MSK}

Clean – Ryan Adams/Taylor Swift (this was really meant to be Taylor Swift, but she obviously isn’t on Spotify so this is the best I could do)

Laughter Lines – Bastille

Torn Apart – Bastille vs. GRADES {this works both for all the Fitzgeralds (especially Anna and Kate), but also on a level for Kate and Taylor}

Even If – Ella Eyre {pretty much the same story as Fragile}

bad_news – Bastille vs. MNEK

Remains – Bastille vs. Rag’N’Bone Man & Skunk Anansie

Weapon – Bastille vs. Angel Haze {for when Anna speaks, and everyone listens}

Faded – Alan Walker

Ship To Wreck – Florence + The Machine {for Kate}

Never Let You Go (feat. Foy Vance) – Rudimental

Take Me Home – Jess Glynne

Never Forget You – MNEK

A Sky Full Of Stars – Coldplay {this is horribly literal at one point – “I’m gonna give you my heart” – but I think it captures the love between Kate and Anna quite well}


 

Phew, about 41 songs later…onto my (very spoilery) thoughts!

OMG THIS BOOK. MUCH SADNESS VERY CRY.

This book, if you didn’t know already, is very sad. The whole way through the book things aren’t particularly cheerful, and there are definitely spots of ultrasadness, but the end is the killer, when everything is ALL GONNA BE OKAYISH (well, as much as it can be when you know someone’s death is imminent) but then OH NO WE DON’T WANT PEOPLE TO BE HAPPY LETS MAKE THEM SAD. JODI HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME. (Though to be fair, she did say in a bit at the end of the book that she nearly didn’t end it like that and rang an oncology nurse to see if there was another way to end it but nope.) But I guess the whole bit when Campbell’s like “I have power of attorney [as of about twenty minutes ago] and THERE’S A GIRL UPSTAIRS IN NEED OF THAT KIDNEY!” is kinda sweet (it feels very heroic and dramatic, when in reality I guess it’s just making the best of a bad situation).

I don’t think it’s the saddest book I’ve read though – that honour has to go to All The Bright Places, because I didn’t actually cry at My Sister’s Keeper. Yes, it’s official, I have a heart of stone. I don’t know if it’s because ATBP felt more relatable because of the characters or if it’s because I finished it at 2am (never a good idea when you’re left sobbing into your pillow questioning the meaning of life and happiness and desperately needing to find someone who’s already read it to flail about it together) or because I was fully expecting My Sister’s Keeper to be gut-wrenchingly sad, but it just made me feel numb. I finished the epilogue and was just sat on the floor with my back to the radiator like what do I do with my life now?! (the answer, it turns out, was make a really long Spotify playlist full of depressing songs)

All that said, it was pretty sad. What I did love, though, was all the different point of views – it was really interesting to get inside everybody’s minds and see their thought processes and reactions to Kate’s illness and their coping mechanisms. Plus there was the really dramatic bit when it’s raining before the closing day of the trial and everybody’s chapters start with the sentence “It was raining.” (is that a really English GCSE thing to notice? Oh dear…) OOH THE USE OF MOTIFS AND JUST ALL THE PRETTY METAPHORS AND SIMILES AND LANGUAGE (definitely done too much English revision). I also loved Julia and Campbell’s subplot (AND SEVERN THE BARMAN!) and the whole thing about Campbell keeping the reason for Judge secret and just all of it.

lq20

*cries* {source}

Another aspect I REALLY LIKED was all the stuff about stars. That was just so perfect for me because not only do I just love the word ‘stars’ (IT’S JUST SO PRETTY) but I’m really interested in astrophysics and astronomy and stuff. Plus all the scientific, detached stuff in that one chapter when Brian’s confronting Jesse about the primary school and it’s interspersed with stuff about how to make stuff explode. Yeah. (still not a pyromaniac, promise)

So yeah. There are my thoughts on My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. What did you think of it? What songs would you add to my playlist?

signature2Instagram // Twitter // Facebook // Bloglovin’

If you liked this, you may like these…

The Definitive Travel Playlist

Music of the Month: February

All The Bright Places: Review (mad fangirling) + Playlist

Aleister Crowley, This Is A Charmed Book

 

*featured image background photo source*

 

23 thoughts on “My Sister’s Keeper: Thoughts & Playlist

  1. Paige @ Page by Paige says:

    Ooh I read this book a few months ago and loved it! AND OH MY GOSH ISN’T ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES AMAZING?! The saddest book I’ve ever read was definitely Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. That book had me crying bucketfuls.

    Like

  2. hermionefowl says:

    So I couldn’t read the review because I don’t think I’m emotionally strong enough to handle the book yet 😛 But from what I know about it, the playlist seems really good! Some of the songs are so heartbreaking, which is perfect

    Like

  3. Bella says:

    I haven’t read this book, but I read another one of her books (Handle With Care) last year and it made me so sad. I think I’ll check this one out though, she’s such a good writer!

    Like

  4. barefootmegz says:

    It’s been a long time since I read this book, and I don’t read a lot of Jodi Picoult’s stuff anymore because I find it’s very formulaic, but I remember LOVING this book. Oh, and crying (I don’t cry for books very often). I thought it was good, and the family dynamics were wonderfully written.
    Have you watched the movie though? The movie changes the ending COMPLETELY and that really annoyed me!!!!

    Like

Say Hello!

