Music of the Month: February

MUSIC OF THE MONTH

Um, yeah, it’s nearly halfway through March, whoops. In my defence, I’ve been super busy, with Mother’s Day, my mum’s birthday, GCSE Music ensemble performance *and* a GCSE Spanish writing controlled assessment exam. Fun times. Anyhow, here is a condensed version of my Spotify playlist for February – see the full thing here.

Sun Goes Down (ft. Jasmine Thompson) – Robin Schulz

My friend’s been obsessed with this approximately forever, but only recently have I actually started to like it. Now, it’s one of my favourite songs!

Unsteady – X Ambassadors

I feel like I’ve already written about this song, though I’m not sure where?? Anyway, this is another one that someone else recommended to me, and I love it. It took a couple of listens, but now I would definitely recommend listening to it.

Light It Up (ft. Nyla and Fuse ODG) – Major Lazer

This is a seriously good song for running to, or just for those moments when you desperately need cheering up and need to make yourself have a crazy one-person dance party. Just me? Okay then.

Now Is The Start – A Fine Frenzy

I found this from Morgan Matson’s book Since You’ve Been Gone and, as the book says, it’s really good to kickstart a running playlist!

Teach Me – Bakermat

Like Sun Goes Down, this is another song my friend’s been a fan of for ages, but I’ve only recently rediscovered it and now really like it!

Cake By The Ocean – DNCE

Basically the same story as Light It Up.

YOUTH – Troye Sivan

I really wasn’t a fan of this when I first heard it, but a few listens later and hey presto, it’s one of those songs that I can’t always remember the name of but instantly recognise the opening chords to (that’s a good thing, in case you were wondering).

Keeping Your Head Up – Birdy

I’m slightly concerned that I’m going to hear this on the radio so much that I start groaning internally when I hear it (*ahem*, 7 Years), but so far so good!

All My Friends – Snakehips

Hold Me Up – Conrad Sewell

This is the guy that featured on Kygo’s Firestone and, in short, me gusta mucho.

Lucky Chops/Youngblood Brass Band

I went through a bit of a brass band phase last month, after one of my friends told me about Lucky Chops (well, actually just moaned that I didn’t know them, but y’know, same thing). I subsequently (metaphorically) shoved them down pretty much everybody I know’s throat, because they’re SO GOOD. I especially recommend Funkytown/Feeling Good, Problem, I’m Not The Only One, My Girl and Hello (aka pretty much everything), but just YouTube them to find a load of incredible live recordings. For Youngblood Brass Band, I recommend Ain’t Nobody and Crescent City. 

The Sound – The 1975

Stressed Out/Heavydirtysoul – Twenty One Pilots

So it turns out TOP are named after my GCSE drama set text, All My Sons, and the 21 pilots that are indirectly murdered in it (creds to my friend for that random but awesomely coincidental fact). In terms of their music, I’m finding that it takes a couple of listens for me to like it, but then I love it. According to one of my best friends, their older stuff is even better, so I definitely need to check that out next!

Viva La Vida – Coldplay

Apparently I’ve been listening to this for years without ever realising how awesome the strings in this are, but it’s all good, I’ve finally realised. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, go listen to this IMMEDIATELY!


 

And that’s it! I so want to add loads of stuff I’ve been listening to this month, but I’ll save that for the start of April…or more likely, halfway through!

What have you been listening to this month? Remember, you can see the rest of my playlist HERE, or check out my January music picks HERE.

signature2

n.b. feature image background photo via unsplash, by Anthony Delanoix

 

8 thoughts on “Music of the Month: February

Say Hello!

