~SPOILER ALERT~PATRICK NESS, YOU BROKE MY HEART AND STOPPED ME FROM BELIEVING IN LUCK {The Knife Of Never Letting Go} ~SPOILER ALERT~

GUYSGUYSGUYS.

YOU KNOW I MENTIONED I WAS READING THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO?

(probably not)

ANYWAY I FINISHED IT.

EEEEEEKKK.

BYE.

51ncmaqtcsl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

{via good ol’ Amazon}

(kidding)

IN CASE YOU DIDN’T ALREADY GUESS, I LIKED IT.

(prepare for a post full of random, uncoordinated thoughts)

So it took a little while for the action (namely, Todd meeting Viola and everything happening) to kick off, but to be honest I think that was probably necessary, and there isn’t loads of intro stuff. Without Todd’s internal dialogue on the way to the swamp, we wouldn’t know so much about his knowledge of Prentisstown, etc, and obviously he wouldn’t have discovered ~the silence~.

I think the whole concept of Noise is pretty awesome, it adds a whole extra dimension to the difficulty of running away. And the slow release of info, when Todd’s been told how a boy becomes a man but we still don’t know. And how Todd refuses to read his mother’s book and I’m just there like HELLO TODD OVER HERE I’M CURIOUS PLEASE READ IT ALREADY.

AND OMG THE WHOLE 13 MONTHS THING THREW ME SO MUCH. I was just like, sorry what? I had to do a quick mental check that yes, years were 12 months long, I’m not getting excited about Christmas a month early, it’s all good. And just the whole sci-fi thing! Like, it’s not obviously completely about aliens etc etc, but maybe as it’s all Todd’s ever known, it feels like it *could* be Earth. And the whole thing about the spaceships and just YES it feels like it could not unreasonably actually be Earth’s future, which isn’t really good, to be honest. But effective in a book.

AND AARON. IS HE FLIPPING IMMORTAL OR SOMETHING? (*may* have used some slightly more explicit language ranting about him to a couple of friends) Like, seriously. PRETTY SURE IT’S NOT BIOLOGICALLY POSSIBLE TO KEEP CHASING PEOPLE WHEN HALF YOUR HEAD HAS BEEN RIPPED OFF. THINK OF THE BLOOD YOU’D LOSE. HOW DOES THAT EVEN WORK, HMMM, MR NESS? It did add a few interesting levels to the book though – firstly, you kept getting your hopes up and then being bitterly disappointed, which kept you really engaged with the book. On the other hand, it did get a *teensy* but farcical by the end. Plus them constantly being caught – like seriously, what happened to luck???

I do like how Ness wrote about the settlement, Carbonel Downs or something, with the weird thing about women. Like, it’s pretty much expected and only small but the way he made both Todd and Viola so disgusted made the feminist part of me kinda happy 🙂 yay!

BUT BEFORE WE PRAISE HIM TOO MUCH WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT MANCHEE. PEOPLE SAY JOHN GREEN IS THE HEARTBREAKER BUT NOT HERE. I never really fully ~got~ it when people going on about animals dying being sadder than human deaths, UNTIL NOW. Like, yeah I was sad when Viola died and when I heard Cillian died (though obviously not about Aaron, he 10000000% outlived his welcome) (but going back to the farce thing, I was so expecting Davy Prentiss to turn up again next to the Mayor at the end) (hey, I haven’t read the next book yet…) but when Manchee died? I WAS SPEECHLESS.

I took a leaf out of Todd’s book (sorry in advance), messaging my friends saying something like “MANCHEE EFFING DIED”. (I only said effing, honest).

BUT SERIOUSLY.

WAS THAT NECESSARY.

TO KILL GOOD OLD, ALWAYS-NEEDING-A-POOP, WILL-DO-ANYTHING-FOR-TODD, BLOODY-GOOD-DOG MANCHEE?

WELL I’LL TELL YOU.

NO IT WAS NOT.

*tries to insert tragically crying gif to show emotions in interesting and engaging way but FLIPPIN TYPICAL WORDPRESS WON’T LET ME SO JUST IMAGINE ME BAWLING MY EYES OUT (but metaphorically because I have a heart of stone and books don’t *actually* make me cry, they just make me feel like I want to)*

It was one of those moments when you REALLY WANT the impossible to happen (*ahem* lookin’ at YOU, Aaron with his nose ripped off and a hole in his cheek yet who’s STILL FLIPPING ALIVE HOW DOES THAT EVEN WORK) and for Manchee to come scampering up going “Todd? Todd? Poo, Todd.” Alas, it never happened. PATRICK NESS, YOU BROKE MY HEART AND STOPPED ME FROM BELIEVING IN LUCK.

Hmph.

Yeah.

But generally, I liked it. That church under the waterfall sounds ~incredible~. And I REALLY HOPE Ben doesn’t die in the next book. (HE BETTER NOT, I DON’T KNOW IF I CAN COPE). And it’s so damn quotable. The whole thing between Todd and the knife. The way the Noise is written out on the page. All so effective, all so awesome.

BLARGHHHTHTGHIKFJHG

(that was me just throwing up all the awesomeness I ingested reading this book)

So yeah, I kinda liked it.

What do you think of it? Is the rest of the series as good/hideously heartbreaking? (But please, NO SPOILERS! :))

As I suspect this post proved, “without a filter, a man is just chaos walking”

signature2

13 thoughts on “~SPOILER ALERT~PATRICK NESS, YOU BROKE MY HEART AND STOPPED ME FROM BELIEVING IN LUCK {The Knife Of Never Letting Go} ~SPOILER ALERT~

  1. Jamila Smith says:

    This is such an entertaining review. “AND AARON. IS HE FLIPPING IMMORTAL OR SOMETHING?” Lol, I know, right!?
    I read this book when I was ten and it changed my life. It was the most amazing thing I’d read! And yes, I could not believe the whole Manchee thing. I kept thinking, “this can’t be, this can’t be, is he really dead? Will he come back to life?” That was heartbreaking.
    Anyway, it’s remained one of my favourite books, along with the rest of the series. Monsters Of Men, well, that was everything I wanted from a story.
    Excited that you’ve reviewed one of my most loved books!

    Like

Say Hello!

