Thoughts On Admitting You’re A Blogger // Part II

Beach

I don’t know if you recall, but a few weeks ago (at the start of half term *sheds a tear for lost holidays*) I wrote a post discussing how I felt about telling people I’m a blogger.

Since then, I’ve told a few more people. And y’know what? It’s been fine. Good. Not a problem. Nothing’s really changed, except occasionally I find myself thinking “ooh, do I want to write this when I know x or y might read it?”. But the philosophy I’m trying to stick to is that my blog’s always been the place where I don’t really have to censor what I’m saying (except for obvious stuff, like my identity etc.) and my style of writing’s already got me over 450 followers, over 5000 visitors and over 11,000 views. I’m clearly doing something right, so I don’t want to change who I am or how I write. Besides, what’s the point in hiding what I really feel about stuff or who I am? Is there really any advantage? If anybody’s actually bothered about me and what I’m doing, then that’s their problem, not mine – after all, nobody has to read this blog! (But y’know, thanks to all 450-something of you that do. It is pretty cool to know there are people that actually like my style or writing and what I write about enough to regularly (well, occasionally) stop by and have a nose around here. And some of my bloggy friends are THE BEST and now I feel like I’ve been neglecting you so GET READY TO BE BOMBARDED WITH MESSAGES SAYING HI).

wpid-img_20140801_174502.png

But now onto what I actually meant to write about…I don’t know how many people I know in “real life” read this, or even know that it exists. I have no idea how many people know that it exists (from Instagram, or whatever) but have never bothered having a look. To be honest, I think I’m probably happier that I don’t know. I still find it awkward talking about my blog in ~real life~ (YOU MEAN STUFF EXISTS OUTSIDE OF THE INTERNET?) so I try and avoid it as much as possible. But y’know, I’m getting better at it.

What’s your opinion on being a public blogger vs. hiding away in the big ol’ WordPress cave and hoping that nobody you know happens to stumble across you?

signature2

 

16 thoughts on “Thoughts On Admitting You’re A Blogger // Part II

  1. I'm a Zalfie Fanatic says:

    It’s really hard for me to admit that I blog, as I’m completely anonymous. I’d be so upset if someone from my school found my blog as there are some people I know that would spread it like wildfire, in a bad way. I’d love to admit that I am a blogger but I’ve always been too nervous

    Like

  2. littlemissdaydreams says:

    I really advocate the ideas you put forward in this post, and it’s honestly written so lovely. I like to keep my blog anonymous right now, but I hope that, when I feel more confident in myself and my blog, I can start to share it with those I know. And this really encourages me to do so, so thank you xoxo

    Littlemissdaydreams.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. keelin7 says:

    Definitely something I struggle with. Most of my friends don’t know about my blog, but my whole family, and two of my best friends do. I think I might tell the eventually. I mean once I’ve gotten better at it, because confidence is definitely a key for blogging.

    It’s good to know I’m not alone in this struggle!

    Like

  4. myteenagemadness says:

    Oh gosh, I am most definitely one of the “hide away in the WordPress cave and hope no one from real life finds it” bloggers! Only my 2 closest friends know about my blog, and none of my family do, but I think I’m happy that way, personally. xxx

    Like

  5. Holly says:

    I struggle with this as well. I just started college and I haven’t told any of my new friends that I have a blog… not because I’m ashamed of being a blogger, but because I don’t know how they’ll respond. I plan on telling them eventually, but I feel like it’s something that I can take my time with.

    Like

  6. Evi @ Adventuring Through Pages says:

    I totally get what you’re saying. A lot of my friends know I have a blog, and a few of them read it, but for the most part I try to ignore them and just think of them as followers too. But my mom reads it as well, so that one I do try to stop and think- “Okay, would Mom want to read this?” xD
    Awesome post!

    Like

Say Hello!

