A Few of My Favourite Things (#2)

As I mentioned in my weekly wrap up yesterday, I’ve got a favourites post for you today! Now I’m not gonna lie, this post was fairly heavily influenced by what I could fit into a pretty flat lay for Instagram (hasn’t been posted yet, but you lovely blog readers get a sneak peek), but not to worry, I’ll be adding in a few extra bits and pieces too…

Aforementioned Instagram-ready flatlay

Aforementioned Instagram-ready flat lay

As shown in the photo:

  • Checked shirts. I’ve got two fairly similar ones, one thin and one thick and lately I’ve been wearing a lot of the thicker one (thin one is pictured) – it goes brilliantly with leggings or skinny jeans and a big, cosy woolly snood (NOT scarf! ;)), and depending on the weather, is often enough for a quick trip to the shop without having to bother with a hoodie or coat.
  • Fox notebook. I bought this in Cornwall while on holiday over the summer (from Newquay, to be precise) and I LOVE it. I don’t use notebooks that much (though I’ve certainly got enough of them…) but I just love the yellow, ruled pages of  this one and am using it for noting down a lot of blog-related stuff – post ideas, favourite blogs – and a few Nanowrimo thoughts. I’m even tending to use my fountain pen with it, I love it that much!
  • My Fujifilm Instax Mini 8 camera (though technically it’s the photos shown in the pic). I took a break from using this for a while since the summer holidays, but I picked it up again the other day to snap the product of my procrastination – a fairy light photo string. It came out really well, which has got me back into it. My sister also bought me a photo album specifically for that size photo, which I’m looking forward to starting to fill up!
  • The Fault In Our Stars. I actually reread this a couple of weeks ago and although I’ve already read it, OH THE FEELS. A true masterpiece by John Green. (Check out my film/book review from the first time round here)
  • Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares (David Levithan & Rachel Cohn). I blame this book 100% (and maybe also all the fairy lights currently up in my room) for how Christmassy I’m feeling. And also the fact that I REALLY WANT TO GO TO NYC AND FIND ALL THE PLACES MENTIONED IN THIS BOOK (don’t think I can pin that one on the fairy lights).
  • Paperchase postcards. This isn’t the first one of these, but after they were mentioned in a post by Hannah Gale, I took the opportunity when I was in town later that day and stocked up on a couple more, including this one.
  • Guylian chocolates. This box is actually empty, I’m afraid. My sister brought them back from American duty free, and I love them so a box of six was never going to last long!
  • Finally – this Michael Honnor print. I mentioned his exhibition that I went to in my wrap up yesterday, and this was my favourite print – I liked it so much I bought a card of it! The blues are just so vivid, varied and realistic…I think I’m in love with it.

And not pictured:

  • These H&M boots. Strictly speaking, I got these last Sunday, but whatever. I’m wearing them a lot at the moment (so long as it isn’t raining!) and I can see them working with jeans, skirts, or dresses. Yay! {photo via H&M} 
  • Flat lays, flat lays, flat lays to infinity. I’ve seen tons of these on Instagram and on Hannah Gale’s previously linked blog, but never knew their proper name until this week. Now I know it, I’ve been able to use Google to find some tips – my favourite article was this one from Ling @ Ling Out Loud. Here’s one of my attempts…

    Giving the ol' flatlay a go. #syblbloggers

    A post shared by @mixolydianmusings on

  • And…that’s all I can think of right now! What have you been liking this week? Have you got any pro tips for flat lays?

signature2

15 thoughts on “A Few of My Favourite Things (#2)

Say Hello!

