THE Most Embarrassing-Yet-Oddly-Hilarious Situation Ever

For those of you that are new here, or maybe just aren’t deranged stalkers avid fans that know every detail about my life (What, you mean some of you just come for the music recommendations, rather than my sparkling wit and sarcastic humour?) (Me, sarcastic?) (NO, NEVER), you may not know but I have a job waitressing at a local football club. It’s not the best job in the world but hey, it’s a job and money and for a 15 year old that’s not bad, eh?

Anyway, what’s that got to do with embarrassing situations we can all have a giggle over, I hear you ask? (“what’s that got to do with embarrassing situations we can all have a giggle over?”). Well, ask and thou shalt receive and all that, so here you go:

At work today, about half an hour, twenty minutes before the end (luckily!) I was clearing one of the boxes with the girl I was working with, and we were chatting to another girl who works there. I was just having a glass of water and she was eating a chicken wing that was leftover from a buffet (leftovers are basically the best part of the job, to be honest). I had earlier told her that they were really spicy, and she immediately put it down. Now, however, she went “How do you know these are spicy” (Spoiler: I’d had them in a buffet there a week or so before, when my mouth was left on fire). She picked one up and started eating it, getting about halfway through before her face changed and she went “Crap, they really are spicy!”. You probably had to be there, but it was just hilarious, her face…

Unfortunately, at this point I was at mid-swallow with my water, and in an effort not to spray it all over the tablecloth, I ended up semi-choking which, I can assure you, is a highly unpleasant experience. Unfortunately, water then started leaking through the hand clamped over my mouth in a desperate attempt to stem the flow of any kind of liquid. But the body doesn’t obey the brain, and sadly this doesn’t work. I ended up actually being semi-sick, although I didn’t realise this at first – I thought the only thing coming out was water! Sadly, as a few of the other girls confirmed, this wasn’t the case 😦 (they described it as white and lumpy – ew – though apparently I managed to swallow most of it, if that’s any kind of consolation…). Pretttyyy embarrassing, huh?

However, for some reason this was absolutely hilarious to the other girls and me…when I coughed afterwards I was immediately like, “THAT WAS ONLY A COUGH GUYS, DON’T WORRY” and the whole thing got vaguely farcical when our boss dealt with it by essentially just telling us to air-freshen the room to oblivion and a couple of the girls mistook a soap sud on one of the chairs for sick, and freaked out. Hahaha.

I think it’s safe to say, however, that I’m glad it happened near the end, and I will be VERY mindful about how I drink water in the future! Luckily there were no guests in the (executive and expensive) box, because that could’ve been VERY awkward (moreso that it already was, it that’s even possible…). Irritatingly, even though I’ve changed clothes and now had a bath, there’s still a faint scent of sick clinging to me. *sigh*…

Oh, one last thing! I just want to say a BIG thank you to everyone in the Blog Squad for checking I was OK (before I explained I wasn’t ill, as such, and it wasn’t full-on vomit-fest, if that makes sense), especially Elly, Sydney, Jill (also thanks to Jill for the uncontrollable and infectious virtual laughter), Samantha and Life of a Secret Girl (sorry if I missed anybody out!)

Well, I hope this post made a few of you laugh…what embarrassing stories can you share to make me feel better about mine? 🙂 Thanks for reading, I hope I haven’t grossed you out too much!

signature2

5 thoughts on “THE Most Embarrassing-Yet-Oddly-Hilarious Situation Ever

  1. Josephine says:

    Oh dear! I hope you’re feeling better now! I can imagine what that must have felt like! I have a very horrible phobia of throwing up, I was definitely kind of cringing while reading this! 😁

    Like

Say Hello!

