Top Ten Tuesday (#1) ~ Please Mr. Book Genie…

Hello!

Today I decided to give Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, a go after seeing a number of posts pop up in my WP reader. As I’m also going to try and participate in this a bit more, I’m going to have a bit of a shuffle around and move Tracklisting Tuesdays to become Tracklisting Thursdays (yep, I managed to keep the alliteration!), so I’m not double posting on Tuesdays.

Ooh, official graphics!

Ooh, official graphics!

Anyway, here goes with Ten Wishes I’d Ask The Book Genie To Grant Me…

  1. Books automatically take themselves back to the library. Yes, this is me being lazy, but having recently managed to rack up over ยฃ1 in library fines (given it’s about 2p per day the book’s overdue, that’s pretty impressive, believe me), auto-returning library books would be an initiative I’m 100% in favour of. So long as they only went when you told them to, so you still had time to get lots of pretty bookstagram snaps, of course…
  2. Lots of money for books. I wouldn’t wish for books to be free (though OMG WOULDN’T THAT BE FANTASTIC) because authors do deserve to earn some money for all their hard work and slaving away, but never having money as a factor when buying/fangirling over books would be SO DAMN GOOD. (Creds to Victoria for giving me inspiration for this one, by the way)
  3. For every book to have pretty cover art, complete with removable poster/postcard to stick up on the wall. Because sometimes cover art is TOO PRETTY TO JUST TAKE BACK TO THE LIBRARY.
  4. Similarly to #1, auto-renewing library books…
  5. Free and instant shipping! Come on Amazon, just invent book teleportation already…
  6. More UK author events! (LOOKIN’ AT YOU, RAINBOW ROWELL) Similarly, more (cheap!) UK YA book events – signings, author meet and greets, conventions, whatever. Just PLEASE, I NEED TO MEET RAINBOW ROWELL.
  7. For fanfictions to be freely available in physical format. Something I’ve come across while reading Harry Potter & The Methods of Rationality, the first full fanfic I’ve read, is that I don’t really like reading on my phone. Yes, it’s highly portable, yay, but it’s just less satisfying and a bit annoying, y’know? Apparently HPMOR is available physically, so that would be good…
  8. More follow on stories. Not necessarily full novels, but just little updates to know how your favourite charactersย are getting on, y’know?
  9. The ability to click my fingers and have whatever bookshelf arrangement (and bookshelf) I like. At the moment I’m hankering after a white set, with pretty rainbow colour-coordination, or maybe alphabetized by author…
  10. For all books to be released worldwide at the same time, with accompanying preorder merch etc. For example, Carry On by Rainbow Rowell…it drove me MAD that there was all this awesome American preorder merch, but not for the UK! And when all the Americans are raving about new books, and the rest of the world is just sat there feeling sorry for themselves and incredibly jealous…well, get your act together, publishers! If the music industry can, so can you…

And that’s it! Not quite my first TTT post, but the first of what will hopefully be a semi-regular thing…what would be on your list? And do you agree with what I’ve put on mine?

Also, keep your eyes peeled for an exciting announcement regarding a new challenge/project I’ll be launching in the next few days!

signature2

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (#1) ~ Please Mr. Book Genie…

  1. Appletaile says:

    DEAR RAINBOW ROWELL,

    PLS COME TO THE UK

    SINCERELY,
    YOUR BIGGEST FANS

    That is all.

    Okay, not reaaally. I did feel rather annoyed about all the US merch and early release, especially because…it’s set in the UK? Like, I thin we deserve some tea thank you for all our excellent pop culture. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Having moaned about RR events, though — she did come last summer, whilst I was innocent and foolish and I MISSED HER. apparently she’s coming sometimes next year, which sounds good? ๐Ÿ™‚ And MyKindaBook did have some merch, but I think it was only for over-16s *cries* I just have aspirations to fly to the US sometime and attend a massive book event ahaha.

    Fics in physical format omg that would be so cool. I mean, I know some very popular authors do it? Or switch around the names and get it published as an actual book. I like to download the longer ones from AO3 and read them on my Kindle, which isn’t as nice as a physical book. But it means I can re-read them really easily, and I don’t get square eyed from hours in front of a screen. And I also look very educated whilst actually reading a novel-length fic of complete fluff. (I HAVEN’T READ HPMOR I remember seeing it around? Is it any good?)

    (oh my goodness this is such a long comment wow)

    Like

  2. thewritinghufflepuff says:

    Ooooh I want all of these too! I totally feel #1 haha. I keep renewing this book because I’m too lazy to bring it back, but I’ve reached the maximum and now I have to bring it back in 3 weeks ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I don’t want to XD

    Like

  3. Caitlin Stern says:

    I like library e-books because they return automatically for that reason–also you can check them out without stepping foot in the library. I feel your pain on the releases–in reverse–like with the Ben Aaronovitch books. Patience is difficult!

    Like

  4. I'm a Zalfie Fanatic says:

    Omg, you might not know but I know that my council nearby has this service, but you can sign up online to an online library run by your council (in UK) using your library card. It means you can order books to the library & you can just go pick them up….AND RENEW THEM ONLINE. The library got 100000x better when I found this out. Next time you’re in there you must ask about it, and it tells you how much you’ve racked up in fines (whoops…)๐Ÿ˜‚

    Like

Say Hello!

