An Overthinking Chef: Healthy Fruit + Nut Bowl

Heya!

I thought I’d try something a bit new today (as predicted in my last post about where I’m going, woop), and write a post I’ve been meaning to do for a while – a recipe post! To be fair, this isn’t really a recipe and is dead easy, but I still thought I’d share…so without further ado, here is how to make a healthy fruit and nut snack bowl/dessert!

wpid-20150616_144744.jpg

This is a fairly versatile dessert? snack? item of food? in that you can customize what you put in to your personal tastes – similarly, you can make it more or less healthy depending on how you’re feeling! What I tend to do is chop up a banana and cube some apple – half is generally enough for me – and put the fruit in a bowl. I then add chopped nuts, often walnuts, almonds, maybe pecan nuts…it all depends on what we have in the cupboard! Sometimes I’ll also add chopped dried apricots or raisins. As a finishing touch, I’ll then season liberally with cinnamon – though feel free to skip this step or substitute some other spice for cinnamon.

You could add a variety of different toppings or use various different fruits for different twists. Here are a few ideas: (Please note: some of these detract from the healthiness of the bowl!)

  • Chocolate – grated, melted, or chopped would all work well!
  • Mini marshmallows (or normal ones, chopped)
  • Biscuit fragments – add these and the previous two toppings, and you’ve basically got a bowl of rocky road! God, that would be good…

Just a quick note: if you want to honour the nationality of the person who originally made this dish (me), then I highly recommend you serve this with a cup of tea. Preferably, for ultimate Britishness, in a Marmite mug.

Serving suggestion. Ironically, I just realised that coaster is French themed. Ah well.

Serving suggestion. Ironically, I just realised that coaster is French themed. Ah well. I tried.

Alternatively, you could serve with a generous portion of my blog/Twitter/Facebook/Instagram (delete as applicable).

Another highly recommended serving suggestion!

Another highly recommended serving suggestion!

So do you think you’ll be giving this recipe a try? I would LOVE to know if you do – leave a note in the comments, or post a picture on Twitter or Instagram and tag me (@booksteaonesie #BTOblog). Also let me know if you’ve got any questions about the recipe or have any suggested toppings – I’d love to hear them!

signature2

6 thoughts on “An Overthinking Chef: Healthy Fruit + Nut Bowl

    • An Overthinking Teenager says:

      I’m glad you like the featured image! 🙂 I used a free website called Canva.com – you have to make an account, but it’s free (although there are paid elements, but you can easily avoid them) and a really good website once you find your way around it a bit. Another option is Picmonkey, which has the advantage of not needing an account but I don’t think it’s as good. I would love for you to try this out – be sure to let me know if you do, and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

Say Hello!

