BLOG OLYMPICS DAY 5 // It’s That Time Again: A Blog Discussion About Favourite Books

Hi everybody! We’re well over halfway into the inaugural Blog Olympics now, and it’s time for another discussion post…you can check out our previous ones, on sport in books and what makes a classic classic here and here respectively. You can also see a recap of the Olympics so far on the latter post, where everything is handily summarised by Emily.

Anyway, onto today’s post – discussing what elements of a book make it a favourite. Many of us have favourite books – often, not just one but multiple. But what makes a book stand out from the crowd, and identifies it as that special books, the one destined to live on your bookshelf into old age?

For today’s discussion, I’ve set you a few prompt questions…

What, for you, cements a book as a favourite?

Do you generally only have one favourite book at a time, or a whole list of them?

What would be the one (or more!) thing that absolutely prevents a book from making it onto your favourites list?

Right then, let’s discuss! You can comment here, or tweet us using @BlogOlympics and #BOFaves 🙂

An Overthinking Teenager and Emily @ Always Opinionated Girl

22 thoughts on “BLOG OLYMPICS DAY 5 // It’s That Time Again: A Blog Discussion About Favourite Books

  1. mulannia says:

    As being only sixteen and just starting to really enjoy books, I’m not one to share my rookie opinions, but I think that for every book lover there is always going to be a list of books that they consider to be their favourites. It just accumulates as we grow older. Like the many who have commented before, our emotional bond with a book definitely emphasises how great the story was written, or how understandable the characters were, or how interesting the plot was — but I don’t think I have a definite standard for a book to qualify as a favourite. Yes, I have a list of my favourite books, but I don’t think I can pinpoint the reason as to why I liked a certain book compared to another book which may have the exact same structure. However I think the main thing that prevents many from liking a book is a lack of good writing.

    Like

  2. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    Like with everything, it’s impossible (or I guess improbable (I just finished the Grisha trilogy, hehe)) to choose a favorite! For me, a favorite doesn’t necessarily mean it has to be a perfect book or one that I give 5 stars in terms of rating. Usually they’re ones that I felt an emotional connection with, so relatable, honest, and real. For fiction reads, its more about the world building and imagination. And one of the biggest factors for me is the characters. It helps if I like the MC but as long as they’re distinct and unique enough the narrative is likely to be much more believable and fun to read (for me, that is). As for nonfiction/memoirs, those favorites are often inspirational or life changing. I’m also a rereader so I’d also say favorites are timeless and books that are enjoyable every time you read them as the first.

    Like

    • An Overthinking Teenager says:

      I agree with basically everything you’ve said here! Realistic-ness definitely plays a huge part, and I think many of my ‘favourites’ are determined by if I think I can reread them and still enjoy them! With regards to nonfiction, I agree that inspirational books or ones that have had a definitive effect on you are most likely to become a favourite. Thanks for joining the discussion!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Cantankerous Clandestine says:

    For me, it’s so hard to just pick up one favorite book. Reading a book is a distinct experience and I easily get moved by wonderfully written novels. I guess the one thing that prevents a book from becoming a favorite of mine is when there’s just no unique quality to the story already. And if it’s poorly written, that’s no question.

    Like

  4. Analee @ Book Snacks says:

    Glad to be finally able to join in on a discussion! I’m still trying to make time to join a Twitter chat, but the timing clashes with my schedule. 😦
    Anyway, to answer the questions:
    All books impact me in some way (whether I liked it or not), but a book becomes a favorite when a book greatly impacts me, something that remains in my head long after I finished the book, something that made me emotional, something that I really loved. Does that make any sense? Along with that, a favorite would include great characters (that is, relatable and interesting), an intriguing plot, and most of the time, a strong & compelling writing style. As such, I have a whole list of favorites, as there are so many books that impacted me, and that had great plots, characters & writing style. Maybe I’m just easy to please, but that’s how it is for me.
    Something that would prevent a book from becoming a favorite would probably be bad characters and a boring plot. The writing style is also important to me, but if a book had great characters and interesting plot, I’ll probably be able to overlook it if a book has a okay-ish or bad writing style. Bad characters, on the other hand are terrible, if I don’t enjoy the characters, it prevents me from enjoying the story, or if not, at least prevents the book from being a favorite.
    Great discussion questions! ❤ Sorry for the long comment!

    Like

    • An Overthinking Teenager says:

      Yay, you made it! And long comments are NEVER an issue for me! Books that have an impact definitely seems to be a recurring theme here, and I’ve got to say I agree – something that doesn’t stay in my mind for good reasons has no hope of being a favourite for me. It’s interesting that you can overlook the writing style if characters are good, but not the other way round – I guess characters form more of the story than the style. Thanks for joining in the discussion, and I’m glad you like the questions! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. 1booklife says:

    For me originality is one very big defining factor, so if I want to pick up a book to read but it sounds very similar to a book that I’ve already read then even without considering other factors I am less likely to pick it up.
    Also the first page leaves a big mark so if I’m going to pick up a book then I will always read the first page to see if I should spend my free time reading this book.

    Like

  6. chocolatepages says:

    I have favourite childhood books – The Folk of the Faraway Tree, Enid Blyton. Then I have my all time favourite book, The Food of Love, A Capella. Then I just have a big list of great books that I love.
    A good book draws you into the story, when you just need to know hat happens next and the characters are real to you.
    I love The Shopaholic series (Sophie Kinsella), Becky is a fab character to follow and I am so excited for the next book to be released.
    Loving blog Olympics, thanks for hosting.
    Amanda.

    Like

    • An Overthinking Teenager says:

      Oh I love the Shopaholic series too! They’re just so fun and cheerful to read 🙂 (and massively relatable, I hate to say!). It’s nice how you’ve got distinct favourites, but then a whole ‘supporting cast’ of other books too – the ones that are brilliant, but not the absolute best of the best!
      I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed the Blog Olympics, you’re welcome :). Thanks for joining the discussion!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Precious @ Clockwork Desires says:

    I’m not even sure what my favorite book(s) is anymore, but I know that for me to love a book, it has to have an amazing plot, wonderful, relatable characters, and a lovely writing style.

    Like

  8. Kayleigh says:

    Looking forward to getting involved in this topic. I’ve decided to do a blog post on it, hope that’s okay. I’ll post it tomorrow and make sure to link you both 🙂

    Like

  9. Elm says:

    Hmm…
    If the book leaves my heart racing, my brain whirring, confused or so, so happy, it’s a favourite! I have so many favourite books, by those factors, but they’re not all my FAVOURITES. If it leaves a lasting impression on me, so lasting that I will rave about it to ANYONE who will listen, then it is a favourite of mine. That has happened with Lies We Tell Ourselves, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Only Ever Yours. If they’ll stick with me forever, they’re my favourite books.
    If the plot is awful, the characters show NO development, or I get annoyed by the way it’s progressing, a book won’t make it onto the list. If I get bored, or find myself sighing while reading because I want to do something else, it won’t make it onto the list.
    It’s not as clear-cut as that, though. There are ALWAYS exceptions to the rule. The Fault in Our Stars isn’t on my favourites list, despite the fact that I’ll remember it forever and it fits all the categories I listed.

    Liked by 2 people

    • An Overthinking Teenager says:

      That’s all logical! I think to be a favourite for me it definitely has to be memorable, and not-boring is another absolute requirement! Exceptions will always be around – why was TFiOS one in particular?
      Thanks for joining the discussion!

      Like

Say Hello!

