#ABEA: A Double Whammy – Character Chatter & Social Media

#ABEA days 2&3

OK, as I mentioned yesterday, I’m participating in Armchair BEA 2015, but I’m a day late (click here to see yesterday’s Q & A introductory post). Therefore, because I want to get caught up, today I’m doing two days’ worth of posts in one: yesterday’s, on social media and how I use it, and today’s, discussing what makes a good character for me. Well, let’s get started!


Day 2: Social Media & How I Utilise It

As many of you may know (and many of you may not), I have a Twitter account (@booksteaonesie), an Instagram account (@booksteaanda_onesie) and a We Heart It account (_anoverthinkingteenager_).

I mostly use Twitter for chatting with other bloggers (which is really good fun, by the way. You should do it. Especially if it means you come and say hi and make my phone buzz with notifications. That always makes me feel popular!), Instagram just for arty-farty snaps (fairly unrelated to the actual content on here, but a more day-to-day view of my life, so follow me over there if you can bear to see any more of me) and WHI to a) find cool photos and b) use them for blog posts. Only thing is, copyright on WHI is a bit of a grey area, so I tend to err on the safe side and not use many photos from there, pretty as they may be, in my posts.

I find that I have the biggest following on Twitter (142 followers), although Instagram has just broken the 100 follower mark. Twitter is probably the one I would say to go for if you were only going to use one for your blog, as it’s more versatile in that you can post text and images, and it’s great for interacting with other bloggers.

What social media platforms do you use, and how do they work for you and your blog? Do any of you use Facebook for your blog, and if so, what are your thoughts on it? Let me know down in the comments – drop you various social media links down there too, so I can go and follow you all!

Now, onto today’s post…

Day 3: Character Chatter

Right, my favourite characters…well, I really love Cath and Levi in Fangirl, because I feel like I can really relate to Cath and that Rowell presents a very realistic image through her, and Levi just seems really cute and sweet, but also human – he has his failings too. Levi and Cath together are quite possibly my favourite fictional couple. Reagan also makes me laugh, and in a way I like Nick, not as a character but the way Rowell’s written him – he’s so realistic that it makes me hate him! Really, I think Rainbow Rowell is just a brilliant author, because I also love Wren Avery in Fangirl – she seems to be like a normal teenager, going a bit off the rails when she reaches university. Although she’s very different to Cath, personality-wise, I think she’s also relatable, just in a different kind of way.

I’m gonna stick with the obvious ones again, and say that I really love Hermione – she’s a bookworm and believes getting good grades are important, she sticks up for her friends, she can be a real badass when she wants to (exhibit 1: punching Draco (was it Draco?!)) but she’s still believable because she’s not perfect – she isn’t always best friends with Harry and Ron, sometimes she has massive bust-ups with them, and that makes her relatable.

Now, I’m lacking a bit in inspiration, so I’m going to hand the reins over to you guys – who’s your favourite fictional couple?ย What makesย a well written character? What are you favourite or least favourite cliches associated with characters? Which author do you think writes characters most believably – do you agree with me about Rainbow Rowell?

If you’re also participating in ABEA 2015, how’s it going for you? If you’re at the actual BEA, would you like me to murder you so I can steal all your free booksย  what’s it like? (by the way, I’m mega jealous if you are).

As always, thanks for reading and I’d love it if you contributed your thoughts to the discussion in the comments!

Danke ๐Ÿ™‚ (do you ever love saying simple words like hello, goodbye, please and thank-you in foreign languages, or am I just mad? I mean, I’m crazy anyway but am I the only one?)

signature2

P.S. If you haven’t already, I will love you forever if you could fill out my blog survey…it doesn’t require registration and shouldn’t take long, so pretty please with a cherry on top fill it in! Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “#ABEA: A Double Whammy – Character Chatter & Social Media

  1. Elm says:

    I utterly love Hermione. For some reason, I love Severus Snape too, mainly because he is such a complicated character. Many of the Gryffindors are incredibly… One-dimensional, I suppose. As for cliches… The “dark, handsome but irresistible” love interest makes me cry with fury and rage. So does the “my brother’s best friend” and the “bad boy falls in love with good girl”.

    Like

  2. Appletaile says:

    Caath and Leviiii *momentary flailing because all Rainbow Rowell fangirling is compulsory* She just writes such realistic and believable and (not literal) PERFECTION characters!
    I’m also rather fond of the characters in Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle. I really disliked her other books, but for some reason the characters in that came to life for me. (Though I can never get their accents. I’m like, I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHERE VIRGINIA IS OKAY?!? My geography skills aren’t wonderful, let’s just say.)
    THE FOREIGN LANGUAGES THING. Literally me. I always say little things, even if I don’t even learn the language. Now I can tell people that it’s not just my natural craziness! ๐Ÿ˜›
    /end long and frankly far too excitable comment

    Like

Say Hello!

