Armchair BEA: Intro Time!

#ABEA days 2&3 (1)

So, I appear to be doing #ABEA a day behind…but maybe I’ll catch up tomorrow! For now, here’s my introduction post..

What is ABEA anyway?
Book bloggers unable to attend the BEA Bloggers Conference or Book Expo America (BEA) in New York City, but would like to ‘meet’ other book bloggers and publishers to discuss books and book blogging can participate in this virtual event. Armchair BEA has been run by book bloggers on a volunteer basis since 2010, although giveaways are sponsored by authors and publishers.

For the first post, we’ve been given 10 questions and have to pick 5 to answer – here are my chosen ones…

  1. Why do you loving reading and blogging? I love reading because I’m bad at fighting addictions and I love to lose myself in a book, and to feel like it’s not fictional, everything is entirely real. I also love the feeling you get when you finish a great book and it just makes you so HAPPY but so SAD at the same time, because it was brilliant and now it’s over, and the feeling when you just can’t stop reading and race through the chapters at a crazy speed. I love blogging because I love it when someone likes my post, or comments on it, or says I’ve changed their opinion in some way or have helped them in any way. I also love having what feels like a whole separate friendship group of bloggy people, even though I’ve never met any of them and don’t have a clue what at least half of them look like, or what their real names are.
  2. What is one book everyone should read? This is a super-duper hard question, but the one thing popping into my head right now is R.J. Palacio’s debut novel, Wonder. It made me think about the people behind disabilities. I also really love Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl! And Harry Potter, just for the sheer amount of brilliant jokes, references and fanfiction-y stuff you will then see and understand on social media. And the insane quotability of it.
  3. Share your favorite blog post on your blog. (aka written by you!) I’m not ashamed to say I picked this question totally for self-promotion! Obviously, I love my Lauren Aquilina interview, because she is one of my favourite singers, but I also really like my ‘You Were Born To Be Real, Not To Be Perfect’ post, because it conveys an important message, and my ‘I’m A Teenager, Get Me Out Of Here’ post because I think it’s potentially quite relatable.
  4. What is your favorite genre and why? I think comtemporary YA, because it feels relatable. A little splash of fantasy wouldn’t do any harm either!
  5. If you were stranded on a deserted island, what author would you want to bring with you? Why? Probably Rainbow Rowell because I’d love to hear more about the characters in Fangirl, and she could tell me all about the fictional world of Simon Snow. Alternatively, J.K. Rowling for similar and very obvious reasons!

Well, thanks for reading! Are you participating in Armchair Book Expo America, and what would your answers to these questions be?

signature2

7 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Intro Time!

  1. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    I totally agree with your idea of blogging. It’s awesome to meet new people and so rewarding when you realize your blog receives traffic (even if it is a little, I still can’t believe people actually listen to me, haha). I saw that you mentioned you enjoyed ya contemporary. Have you read any Sarah Dessen? I absolutely love her writing. The Truth About Forever and Just Listen are good ones by her. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is another fun one I read this year. 🙂

    Like

  2. Appletaile says:

    Aw, no, I completely missed this! It looks like great fun. 🙂
    I can totally relate to the first question; you did such a fantastic job of explaining that feeling! Asdfjkl also agreeing a lot on Wonder, JK Rowling, Rainbow Rowell. 😛 (Because of course, haha.)
    Just a note – did you mean to put an ‘n’ in contemporary? 🙂

    Like

Say Hello!

