My 2nd Ever Book Tag (I Think): The Book Lover’s Questionnaire

No idea about the original source of this one. Soz.

No idea about the original source of this one. Soz.

Following nicely on from my recent first ever book tag, I now have (you guessed it!) my second ever book tag! Woop woop for book tags!

This one is the Book Lover’s Questionnaire, which I was nominated for by the awesome ponymad2booklover, who’s blogging home is over at Galloping Free. Go check her blog out for a bit of writing, books and horses, all on one handy webpage! Now, on to the questionnaire…

1 ~ Do you have a specific place for reading? (ooh, loving the ~swirly hyphens~ do these actually have a ~name~? Let me know if you can answer this ~important~ question!)

Nope, not really. I will read anywhere – in fact, I probably read the most in the most uncomfortable positions, because I’m reading as procrastination. E.g. – this includes whilst putting socks on, while tying shoelaces, while eating, while ~doing homework~, and on the loo. Sorry, you probably didn’t need to know that last one…please tell me I’m not the only one? A book nook would be awesome, I just don’t know how often I’d actually use it…I’d probably just stare at it and drool! (Again, TMI…). I guess I probably read most deliberately on my green bag, which is actually from the 2012 Olympic Village…

2 ~ Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Uhh…I’m really sorry but…probably folded corner? *ducks from rotten tomatoes being thrown my way*. Thing is, I get most of my books from the library, so they’re often already dogeared. I am getting better though – I’ve been using bookmarks (or nothing at all) on my brand-new books, mainly because they’re so NEW and PRETTY and BEAUTIFUL! Oh, and I used a bit of paper for the school book I was reading the other week…so probably overall random piece of paper. Sorry, that was a very expanded answer…

3 ~ Can you stop anywhere in a book or do you have to finish the chapter?

It generally depends on the circumstances…free reading, I’ll finish the chapter, but if I have to, say, turn my light out, I’ll just stop wherever. I also stop wherever when I’m using reading as procrastination and suddenly decide to kick my butt into gear and get on with jobs/homework/music practice/whatever I’m supposed to be doing and resolutely ignoring.

4 ~ Music or TV while reading?

I can work with the TV, but it distracts me a bit. Music-wise, it doesn’t really make much of a difference, because once I get into the book it just fades into the background.

5 ~ Do you eat or drink while reading?

Not deliberately. A cup of tea if I’m drinking one anyway, something if I’m thirsty. I’ll happily read at mealtimes if I’m allowed, but I don’t really specifically eat with food – only if I’m eating anyway.

6 ~ One book at a time or several?

Several, definitely. Generally what happens is that I pick up one book, then end up with another one I have to read for school, or I momentarily lose that book and pick up another one in place of it. Or I just pick up a book other than the one I’m reading and start reading that one!

7 ~ Reading at home or elsewhere?

Home, generally. We used to have reading lessons at school but don’t anymore, and I don’t really like reading around friends as I can’t focus and then feel antisocial. I’ll occasionally read if I’m in the car or wherever waiting for something, but most often I read at home.

8 ~ Read out loud or silently?

Always silently (seems antisocial to just start talking to thin air…) unless I have to read in class at school or really can’t focus on a sentence, in which case reading aloud helps me to digest it. Ooh, chocolate digestives…

9 ~ Do you read ahead or skip pages?

Not really, except for Jane Eyre which I never finished – I skipped some pages that were just endless dialogue. Also, I’m not great with scary books, so if I’m getting freaked out I might skip ahead or read the ending or something, because that reassures me without having to leave the book half read. When we read Dark Matter by Michelle Paver in English last year, it was going really slowly because we were doing loads of related work and analysis stuff, so I binge read it all because that book is TERRIFYING!

10 ~ Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I really love brand new books, but I care more about reading them, so while I won’t deliberately chuck spaghetti at them (although that may be an accidental side effect), I may well break the spine or dog ear them. I regularly just leave books open and cover-up to keep my place, which probably isn’t the best thing to do…

11 ~ Do you write in your books?

No, although I don’t really feel massively opposed to the idea of it. I do quite like the idea of keeping track of quotes and passages you particularly like, and occasionally stick a post-it note in, but I can never really bring myself to actually write in them…I think that’s partly because I just can’t be bothered or forget to though, rather than worries over the ethical treatment of books! 🙂

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

And that’s it! I hope you enjoyed my second ever book tag (I Think!). I’m just going to throw this open to everyone (because I can’t be bothered to list a bunch of nominees), so please feel free to do it and let me know in the comments if you do, so I can go and check out your answers! Alternatively just leave some answers below :).

signature2

 

7 thoughts on “My 2nd Ever Book Tag (I Think): The Book Lover’s Questionnaire

  1. hermionefowl says:

    I’m not sure if I’ve been tagged in this, so I might do it 🙂 I’ll join in with throwing tomatoes *throws tomato* How can you dogear a book?!? It’s a crime! I don’t know what these ~ are called, but I agree that they are very pretty 🙂

    Like

Say Hello!

