Celebration Week: A Short History of My Blog

And, unlike Bill Bryson’s A Short History of Nearly Everything, it really will be short. In the grand scheme of things, at least. By the way, I didn’t post this yesterday as originally planned because at the last minute I decided to go to a choral concert my sister was involved in (which I surprisingly really enjoyed) and didn’t get the chance to write it. So either I’ll double post on one day or shove everything back by a day!

So, I wrote my first blog post on March 16th 2014. I think I started it up because I’m interested in journalism, and my mum said it could be a good thing to have in order to practise writing to an audience. I then spent ages looking at ‘teen blogs’ on Google, and reading articles on How To Start A Blog and What Your First Blog Post Should Be On. Needless to say, these weren’t terribly helpful. Nothing really caught my eye in terms of a blog post, the only advice on what you should write a blog on was “whatever you know about and enjoy”, and all the teen blogs listen were famous ones or at least ones which had several hundred, or often thousands of followers. Thanks, Google.

I think the thing which probably kickstarted me into just writing a post was me telling my dad how awesome all these other blogs were, and him replying, “yes, but you know what would be more awesome? You writing your own blog!”. I decided to write my first ever blog post as just a general “Hello?!?” kind of post, shortly followed by a slightly wacky “A Lyrical Story” post, which was not originally intended to be called that, I just put it in the title box in lieu of an actual title and forgot to change it!

Now, I’m really glad I chose to start a blog. I’ve discovered some awesome bloggers that all the “top teen bloggers” lists have missed off, made several friends who I kind of wish I could know in real life and text and talk to and everything, and reached so many milestones that have made me really proud and excited. Now, after a year of blogging, here are some stats:

  • 5536 visits
  • 1024 likes
  • 347 followers combined from WordPress and Twitter (fun fact: my Twitter account was originally for one of my hats, named Geoff, before I rebranded it for my blog)
  • 295 comments (excluding ones by me)
  • 249 WordPress followers
  • 241 posts published
  • 98 Twitter followers
  • 79 Instagram followers
  • 4 Bloglovin’ followers
  • Views from far-flung (at least to me!) countries such as Pakistan, Hungary, the Philippines, India, Norway, Nigeria, Tanzania, the United Arab Emirates, the Czech Republic, Singapore, Qatar, South Korea, Martinique and Macau (SAR China). Yikes, that’s not even all of them!
  • Awesome and random search terms including “pharrell williams creepy”, “twin atlantic annoying accent”, “rainbow cakes song”, “bearamy on the road” (go Build-A-Bear!) and “onesie exchange students”
  • Participation in three blog challenges, 100 Days of Happiness (*ahem* 70 something…), Poetry 201 (hoping to attack the prompts I didn’t get round next week, as we’ll be on Easter holiday then) and An Overthinking Song Challenge (go and check out Elly’s continuation of my legacy!)
  • Received three emails through the ‘Say Hello‘ page on my blog, one from the aforementioned Elly asking for blogging tips, one setting up an interview which unfortunately fell through at the last minute, and one from Cheerful Dalek (BEST.SCREEN NAME.EVER) saying thanks for checking out their blog and discussing having a love-hate relationship with the Top 40 chart. All of these correspondences (*red lights flashing* POSH WORDS ALERT! POST WORDS ALERT! 😉 ) have been really nice to receive, because it’s just so lovely to know that someone heard about your blog through word of mouth, or likes your blog enough to ask for advice, or just bothers to fill in the contact form. Hopefully, I shall have another *interesting thing* coming up soon, linking to email and all that…

I love my blog so much, and I just want to say thanks to my friends (and family!) who read it devotedly (and one in particular, who can practically quote passages of posts from months ago back at me…), everyone who follows me, everyone who’s read a post and all my bloggy friends! 🙂

image

via gratisography.com

signature2

 

10 thoughts on “Celebration Week: A Short History of My Blog

  1. Appletaile says:

    Ha. I remember seeing all these ‘find your niche’ tips on websites, and having no idea how to go about it. I still don’t really have a ‘niche’…? Oh well, I AM DIVERGENT AND I CANNOT BE CONTAINED. (If I keep telling myself that, does it come true? 😉 )

    Anyway, HAPPY BLOG BIRTHDAAY! *pulls party popper* Hopefully there’ll be tons of awesome things yet to come! 🙂

    Like

Say Hello!

