The Return of Tracklisting Tuesday: The Genius That Is Ed Sheeran

Wow, its been a long time since the last TT post, hasn’t it?At least a month because of my An Overthinking Song Challenge thing throughout February…but I’m back now! This week I’m going to be featuring Ed Sheeran, who in my opinion is possibly the most gifted user of a loop pedal known to man. That said, I don’t know of many other people who use a loop pedal, so I’m not sure I’m fit to judge…

Aged 24, he’s released two albums – 2011’s World Music Award-nominatedย ‘+’ – and 2014’s Grammy-nominated ‘x’. Both Multiply and Plus have been nominatedย the Brit award for MasterCard British album of the year, with x deservedly scooping it this year. Before +, Sheeran independently released five EPs, including the ‘Songs I Wrote With Amy’ EP, collaboratively written with Amy Wadge, and the ‘No.5 Collaborations Project’ EP, featuring grime artists including Devlin and Wiley.

But enough with the Wikipedia facts machine! Lets get on to some of my favourites…

I recently managed to download his Brits performance of ‘Bloodstream’ for free as well as x for ยฃ3.99 on Google Play, and I’ve now become addicted to Bloodstream. Particularly the live version…I saw on Facebook or somewhere a thing that said something like ‘Ed Sheeran: the only artist to use a guitar as a drum’. He just manages to make so much noise and awesomeness using just himself and a loop pedal…listening blindly, I bet you wouldn’t be able to tell there was no band. The loop pedal also helps to build up the intensity and emotion of the performance…none of it is prerecorded, meaning everything has that brilliant raw edge to it.

Another favourite is ‘You Need Me, I Don’t Need You’…the explicit version! There’s an unedited, five-minute-long version you can download for free when you sign up to his mailing list,which is just amazing. The lyrics are clever, it’ll all just awesome…I’ve listened to it so much I can now do parts of the rap!

‘Thinking Out Loud’ has to win every award for most beautiful love song ever. The video is so simple yet stunning…it feels like a song that doesn’t need fancy technology to make it sound good (though I’m sure plenty of technology went into the recording of it!).

‘All Of The Stars’, from the TFiOS soundtrack, is another emotional one that makes me tear up…though I think that’s partly because of the context of the film. IT’S SO SAD!!! I like the video too, with all the quotes…I want a room like that!

My final pick is ‘Photograph’, which I really started listening to when I bought his album. There’s some really beautiful imagery in the lyrics – lines like ‘Hearts are never broken/and times are never frozen still’ and ‘
We keep this love in a photograph/We made these memories for ourselves/Where our eyes are never closing’, so basically the whole chorus!

I love so much of his music, it was really hard to pick out a few songs for this post…earlier stuff like ‘Lego House’ is also great, as well as the popular ‘Sing’ and ‘Don’t’.What do you think of Ed, and what is your favourite or least favourite of his songs?

Hope you enjoyed the return of Tracklisting Tuesday (actually on a Tuesday for once!)

signature2

 

8 thoughts on “The Return of Tracklisting Tuesday: The Genius That Is Ed Sheeran

  1. laurenelizabethsays says:

    I haven’t listened to Ed Sheeran in a long time because of feelings that his old songs always bring back for me but I’m so glad you posted this reminding me of his new stuff. He’s wonderful. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Say Hello!

