An Overthinking Song Challenge: THE BIG FINALE!

Yep, this is the post for the 28th of February, plus the bonuses…

30 Day Song Challenge- Books, Tea and a (1)

OK, lets deal with the 28th’s prompt first: a song you discovered through a book. OK, I admit I just Googled ‘songs in Eleanor and Park’. But I think my pick for today is going to be ‘Asleep’ by The Smiths. I’m listening to it now, and although I don’t know the song as such, it popped into my head because I remember it being mentioned in The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I won’t say I think it’s going to become a favourite – right now it’s making me feel like I’m about to cry – but it feels really soothing and calming. I can definitely see why it’s called Asleep (aside from the lyrics, of course!).

Right, now onto the bonuses. These were added in because I screwed up the original picture but still liked the prompts, so if anyone does this not for February then feel free to use them as the 29th and 30th prompts!

1. – A song which has lyrics that mean something to you. My thoughts for this are very similar to those as for the 27th’s prompt, a song you like the lyrics to – my picks then were King by Lauren Aquilina and Flaws by Bastille. I think King means a lot, because it’s about making the best of what you’ve got – I try to keep the lyrics in mind, especially ‘glass half empty/glass half full/well either way you won’t be going thirsty/count your blessings not your flaws’. I actually have ‘Count your blessings not your flaws’ as a wristband, I love it! Overall, I just think the song has a really important message that people should try to listen to and remember. I also like Flaws for similar reasons – it’s about accepting your flaws and making the most of who you are.

2. – A song which would be the theme tune to your life.ย Um, although I hate to be repetitive, I would say the same as above – at least, that’s what I try to live my life by. However, for the title, I think ‘Chocolate’ by The 1975 wouldn’t be a bad pick! Also, any song about procrastination and being late…There’s also ‘Tuning Out’ by Bastille, which is less of a song as such and that I don’t actually like that much, but I do think that tuning out in the sense of negative things people say and society’s expectations is important. ‘Figure It Out’ by Royal Blood could also be another contender…although a) the song is about love and b) it isn’t one of my favourites, I guess I am just a teenager with a lot of thoughts trying to figure stuff out. Unfortunately, I don’t always succeed…

For the final time, what would your thoughts for these prompts be? And if you really love this challenge and want to hear more about it (in which case, virtual high five and thanks for being awesome!), then Elly over at A Hufflepuff’s Thoughts is doing the challenge this month, so go check her answers out. And of course, feel free to do the challenge yourself! ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for reading, whether it’s just this post or you’ve followed the whole challenge…I hope you’ve enjoyed it, hopefully I can do it again next year! (Gosh, this feels like the end of an era, I’m getting emotional…)

*mentally sobbing as she waves goodbye to desperately trying to come up with songs for prompts*

signature2

4 thoughts on “An Overthinking Song Challenge: THE BIG FINALE!

Say Hello!

