An Overthinking Song Challenge: February 24th & 25th

30 Day Song Challenge- Books, Tea and a (1)

OK, so the prompt for the 24th first…a song a friend introduced you to. I have one friend who always gives me great music recommendations…occasionally I don’t like them, but most of the time I love them! She introduced me to Blank Space before it was big, and we fangirl over Kygo’s awesomeness at remixes together. I think my official pick would have to be ‘Teach Me’ or ‘One Day’ by Bakermat though…I heard his song the latter on the radio ages ago, where it stuck out to me because it sampled Martin Luther King’s ‘I Have A Dream’ speech, then she reminded me of it. I wouldn’t say it’s my favourite song, but I’m definitely glad she pointed me in its direction! The video for Teach Me is really feelgood too.

ย 

Today’s prompt is ‘A Cover Song That’s Better Than The Original’. There are so many possibilities for this one…I absolutely love Rudimental’s BBC Radio 1 Live Lounge mashup of Monster by Eminem feat. Rihanna and One Direction’s Story Of My Life (should not work, but it 100% does), but I’ve recently heard Sam Smith’s cover of Bruno Mars ‘When I Was Your Man‘, and it isย beautiful. Criminally so. Ed Sheeran’s brand-new cover of Christina Aguilera’s ‘Dirrty‘ is pretty good too, though I can’t say I’m familiar with the original…I think I’m a bit too young. Likewise, I’m not familiar with Macy Gray’s ‘I Try‘, but George Ezra’s cover is so brilliant I looked up the original. I also love Meghan Trainor’s slowed-down ukulele-accompanied ‘Shake It Off‘ for SiriusXM, although I don’t think it quite tops the original. However, just for the purpose of picking a specific song, I’m gonna go for Hozier’s cover of Ariana Grande’s ‘Problem’. Seriously, it’s magical.

If you want to hear more covers, I recommend you either check out my Tracklisting Tuesday postย on my favourite covers, or look at SiriusXM and BBC Radio 1 Live Lounge on YouTube.

What are your favourite covers, and what do you think of my picks?

signature2

 

5 thoughts on “An Overthinking Song Challenge: February 24th & 25th

Say Hello!

