An Overthinking Song Challenge: February 22nd & 23rd

30 Day Song Challenge- Books, Tea and a (1)

Right, yesterday’s prompt first: A Song You Haven’t Listened To In Ages. Well, I have tons of choices, including most of the Bastille Bad Blood album, but I’m going to highlight ‘Talk To Me’ by Lauren Aquilina. I absolutely love the lyrics in this song, specifically “There’s a universe inside your head, constellations of the things you left unsaid”, but I haven’t listened to it for yonks…maybe because it always makes me feel a little bit sad? Anyway, just going to press play on that now…

Today’s prompt is ‘a song you stumbled across accidently’, or words to that effect. My picks for this are ‘Panic Breeds Panic’ by To Kill A King featuring Holly Walker, and ‘So I Go So You Go’, also by TKAK and Holly Walker. I discovered these after finding ‘Choices’, another favourite, by To Kill A King & Friends on YouTube, and downloading the free EP of ‘Ralph’s Balcony – The Collection’, originally released on pay-what-you-like in aid of Great Ormond Street Hospital. Once they reached their target, the EP was released for free. Both my choices (ooh, see what I did there?) were on that EP, stood out to me and the rest is history…however, I haven’t listened to them for ages, so it’s quite nice to rediscover them like this. If you want to hear more To Kill A King, I also highly recommend ‘Cannibals With Cutlery’ and ‘Bloody Shirt’, the latter of which Lux Lisbon also did a freely-available and brilliant cover of.

 

What would your choices be? (Ha, ‘Choices’, geddit? Excuse me whilst I continue to make awful puns…)

signature2

4 thoughts on “An Overthinking Song Challenge: February 22nd & 23rd

Say Hello!

