January Wrap-Up & A Quick Announcement

MONTHLY WRAPUP

As well as introducing an End-of-the-Week Wrap-Up, this month I’ve decided to also start up a Monthly Wrap-Up feature. Here goes…

On The Blog: This month I published a 2014/15 Review & Resolutions post (actually on NYE, but close enough), a Tracklisting Tuesdays Christmas music round up, Sisterhood Bloggers of the World award post, a quick thought on Pitbull’s latest track ‘Fireball’, a Christmas presents haul, my first two end-of-the-week wrap-ups (#1/#2), a beginner’s guide to 8tracks and told you about Randy Newman’s track ‘Short People’. Whew! I can’t be bothered to work out which one was most popular, but I strongly suspect it was the 2014/15 resolutions post. I’ve had an awesome 347 views, 163 visitors and 54 likes…yay, thanks! I’ve also been nominated for the Liebster Award and the One Lovely Blog Award by Holly and Elly respectively, thanks guys and I’ll try and get those posts up fairly soon!

I’ve read Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson, The Death Cure by James Dashner and Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, and I’m currently partway through Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. On New Year’s Day I saw Paddington with my family at the Leicester Square Odeon (it’s AMAZING!), last Saturday I saw The Theory of Everything with a friend (again, AMAZING!), and right now I’m watching Bad Neighbours with a bowl of popcorn and my sister (the popcorn most importantly, obvs ;)).

Musically, I’m loving Ed Sheeran (especially You Need Me Man I Don’t Need You) and Kygo (check out his remixes of Seinabo Sey – Younger, Passenger/Ed Sheeran – Thrift Shop/No Diggity and Ed Sheeran – I See Fire) (yeah, bit of a difference, I know…) – I mean, the stuff Ed Sheeran can do with a loop pedal, it’s awesome! I was feeling slightly less enchanted by Bastille this month, so I’ve gone back to listening to their All This Bad Blood album for a more ‘original’ sound. I’m also loving the BBC Radio 1 Live Lounge covers Ed Sheeran – Stay With Me, Nobody To Love/Doo Wop (That Thing) by Kiesza, and The Monster/The Story of My Life by Rudimental. Harlem by New Politics and Shut Up And Dance by Walk The Moon are both favourites this month as well.

I’ve been really busy with school stuff as well – just this week, I’ve taken part in the UK Inter-Schools Philosothon, discussing topics such as ‘What Makes You You?’ ‘What Is The Purpose of Education?’, ‘What Is Art?’ and ‘Is The Purpose of Life To Be Happy?’. It was really thought-provoking and enjoyable, and I had great fun doing it for the second year in a row. On Wednesday I spent the day in Bristol at the GCSE Science Live lectures being held at Colston Hall, along with over a thousand other GCSE students. There were talks on ‘star in a jar’ nuclear power, the planets, how zebras got their stripes, illusions (done by the same guy who had some of the ideas we focussed on in the Philosothon ‘what makes you you’ topic!) and even one on genetics by Professor Lord Robert Winston, the pioneer of IVF! There were also a couple of sessions from an examiner, which were OK but slightly boring…

Now for a quick announcement…I’ve designed and will be undertaking a February Song Challenge, 28 days of song prompts. I’ll be tagging these posts with #anoverthinkingsongchallenge, so keep an eye out for them and feel free to give it a go as well! Here are the prompts I’ve come up with:

30 Day Song Challenge- Books, Tea and a (1)

 

Any thoughts on what I’ve mentioned? Drop me a line in the comments and tell me about your start to 2015!

An Overthinking Teenager

(Damn, so nearly just on 600 words, went over to 601…)

Say Hello!

