Tracklisting Tuesday: A Beginner’s Guide to 8tracks

The particularly observant of you may have noticed 8tracks playlists occasionally sneaking into my posts, or even as a widget on my sidebar. I thought that I would tell you a bit about what 8tracks is and why it’s so brilliant, as well as pointing ย out my favourite mixes!

8tracks is a free website where you can publish mixes on any theme, so long as the songs have all been released and you’ve either purchased them or they’re available on SoundCloud. You don’t have to have an account to listen, but you do to create mixes, comment, like mixes or favourite tracks. There’s the free version, which includes ads (although they aren’t audio ads, unlike Spotify), or you can upgrade to premium to get rid of the ads.

In terms of the mixes themselves, the only real caveats are that you have to have at least 8 tracks per playlist, and you can’t more than two songs by the same artist or from the same album in one playlist. When you play a mix, the tracks appear as they are played. For copyright reasons, you can only have 3 (I think) skips per hour. Mixes are tagged and described by the author, to give listeners an idea of what to expect.

8tracks is best for people looking to discover new music – I’ve discovered some new favourites on there, including ‘I’m Ready’ by AJR, ‘Harlem’ by New Politics, ‘Say Hey (I Love You)’ by Michael Franti & Spearhead, ‘Shut Up And Dance’ by Walk The Moon and ‘Classic’ by MKTO. If you have an account, you can also set preset tags to appear on your feed.

Find me on 8tracks @benandjerrys123…below I’ve embedded some of my favourite mixes and my most popular mix – enjoy!

It’s incredible how you can find a playlist curated to every taste and mood…I strongly encourage you give 8tracks a whirl!

An Overthinking Teenager

4 thoughts on “Tracklisting Tuesday: A Beginner’s Guide to 8tracks

Say Hello!

