Tracklisting Tuesday: Santa Gave To Me…

Argh! No! First Tracklisting Tuesday of 2015 and it’s late! Whoops…

Anyway, I decided that this week’s post would be a roundup of all the music I got for Christmas, with a spotlight on my favourite tracks from each album…

1. Now That’s What I Call Music! 89//Various Artists

from officialcharts.com

from officialcharts.com

Featuring top chart hits from the last few months, I’m seriously happy I got this. Favourites for me include ‘Fireball’ by Pitbull, which is hideously un-PC and offensive but horribly catchy and good for running (plus it features in the Shaun the Sheep trailer, what more do you want?!?), ‘I’m Not The Only One’ by Sam Smith (I had this already, but y’know…come on, it’s Sam Smith, people!) and ‘Don’t’ by Ed Sheeran, and which I can do most of the rap to. Hooray for amateur rapping skills!

2. VS: Other People’s Heartache Pt.III//Bastille

brylVaZ1

via @bastilledan on Twitter

Well. New Bastille music. Very likable new Bastille music. A mixtape no less. How much more is there to it?

My favourites are ‘Bite Down’, vs. Haim, ‘Remains’ vs. Rag N Bone Man vs. Skunk Anansie, which largely features lyrics from previous Bastille songs and is stripped back and beautiful, and ‘Axe To Grind’, vs. Tyde and Rationale. ‘Axe To Grind’ feels calm and controlled, yet with a definite edge to it. It’s a bit more dance-y than previous Bastille music, and I like it.

3. Radio 1’s Live Lounge 2014//Various Artists

81yJDzMhIHL._SL1429_

via amazon.co.uk

This is a selection of Radio 1’s ‘Live Lounge’ performances, where an artist goes in and performs one of their own songs and a ‘mystery cover’. Some of the featured tracks are originals, but the majority are covers…I especially love ‘Stay With Me’ by Ed Sheeran, ‘We Can’t Stop’ by Bastille (obvs), ‘Hideaway’ by Ben Howard and ‘The Monster/The Story of My Life’ by Rudimental. My final choice showcases a very different side to Rudimental to what I know of them, more delicate, but absolutely awesome.

What music did Santa bring you over the last few weeks, and what do you think of my picks?

An Overthinking Teenager

7 thoughts on “Tracklisting Tuesday: Santa Gave To Me…

Say Hello!

