Yay! People Like My Blog! – Sharing The Liebster Love

Yay! I’ve been nominated for two Liebster Awards! This will actually make my total up to four, which is just awesome. I was nominated by Lucy over at dreamsbrightascitylights, and by Anna over at Not That Different. Thanks guys!

Here’s a quick recap of the rules:

  • Post the award on your blog.
  • Thank the blogger who presented this award and link back to their blog.
  • Write 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers who you feel deserve this award and who have less than 200 followers.
  • Answer 11 questions posted by the presenter and ask your nominees 11 questions

Right, facts…

  1. I am probably the most indecisive person you will ever meet/read the blog of. Seriously, what to have for tea, what lipbalm to use, what to listen to…anything and everything, I can’t make a decision on!
  2. I am absolutely awful at gymnastics…forward rolls are a virtual impossibility for me! Once my P.E. teacher was helping me forward roll off a box vault thingy and I rolled off the side and landed on them… :/ says it all, really! I used to/still occasionally do get seriously stressed out about it, but most of the time I try to forget about my complete lack of gymnastic ability!
  3. I am very bad/good, depending on how you look at it, at sweating the small stuff.
  4. I almost always end up saying sorry first – something I’m trying to change!
  5. I am seriously bad at lying. Like, I can do it, but then I feel so guilty I end up being like ‘Mum, I’m so sorry, I lied about having Haribo!’, or something stupid and irrelevant like that. However, I guess that could be regarded as a good thing, making me an honest, beautiful person…maybe.
  6. I can be really insecure.
  7. I try not to be a ‘follower’, and to be friends with who want to be friends with, not who my other friends are friends/refuse to be friends with! I also try and stick up for my often-regarded-as-nerdy hobbies (I did, and enjoyed, an inter-school literary quiz, and represented my school in the UK’s first-ever ‘Philosothon’).
  8. I’m not really sure where I stand with religion.
  9. I can read non-stop some days when I really should be doing other things, but whenever there’s free time for me to read in, I lose all interest in books.
  10. I try not to let social media influence my emotions and feelings of self-worth – likes and Facebook friends do not describe your popularity, people!
  11. I love listening to music.

{for more not-very-interesting facts about ME, check out my previous Liebster Award post from around May-time…}

Questions: from Lucy (dreamsbrightasacitylights):

1. What was the last thing that made you smile?

Hmmm…*all memories promptly abandon brain* probably something on Facebook, or teasing my sister, but I went to an acoustic Status Quo concert a few weeks ago (my dad’s a big fan of the Quo), and hearing him sing along and knowing he was enjoying himself was a really nice experience.

2. What or who inspires you to write?

I don’t write a lot of fiction, generally because I don’t really know what to write, so this is a tricky question. In terms of vague story ideas, maybe stuff in my life, at school or at home, books I’m currently reading or people I see in the street – often people with disabilities, which sounds kind of weird…

3. What would be your ideal place to write?

Probably in one of those ‘book nooks’ you see on the internet, or, failing that, a comfy desk chair in a stereotypical teenager’s room, surrounded by fairy lights and quotes pinned to the wall. Otherwise, maybe a park or coffee shop?

4. Like King Lear’s poor judgment, if your life was a Shakespearean tragedy, which of your flaws do you think would be the fatal flaw?

Probably the difficulty I have in moving on, or my indecisiveness.

5.What song is in your head right now? (or if there isn’t one, which song was last stuck in your head)

Weirdly, Sweet About Me by Gabriella Cilmi, which I haven’t actually heard in years but realised earlier that I had on my phone! This song always reminds me of the TV show Britannia High which only ran for a season, but I clearly remember the cleaner (or it might have been dinner lady), Ronnie, dancing on a brown leather sofa and singing hideously out of tune. As you do. Anybody else remember Britannia High???

6.Who do you miss?

Maybe my dog, who died just over a year ago, or a couple of friends who moved schools or moved away, and I lost contact with…although I am Facebook friends with them, we never really talk anymore, which is a shame.

7.What kind of goals have you achieved since you started your blog?

50 followers, 100 followers, nearly 150 followers, now over 150 followers (157!!!)…11 likes on a post, 62 views in a day, 3438 overall views…just all the lovely comments I get, which really make my day!

8.What is your pet peeve?

Hmm…maybe people that have seen your messages but then ignore you? I’m not really sure, to be honest…oh! People on Instagram that post something and then delete it, or that say ‘like 2 photos or you’ll be blocked’ or something like that. Urgh!

9.If you had the chance to become famous would you choose fame or stick to your current life?

Depends why I was famous. To be honest, probably the fame…I wish I could say I didn’t want to be famous, but I don’t like to lie!

10.Who is your favourite fictional character from a book or film and why?

This changes basically with every book I read! I like Cath from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, and Hermione from Harry Potter but…I don’t know, I can’t really think of one standout character that I love!

11. Do you live by a motto or saying, and what is it if you do?

‘Life is not a rehearsal, so be happy now’ – attributed to several different people.

Questions from Anna (Not That Different):

1. If you could be friends with any fictional character, who would it be and why?

Uhm…maybe Cath from Fangirl (Rainbow Rowell)? Cos she’s also a fangirl, so we could swap fandom notes!

2. What is your favourite kind of music/artist?
Hmm…’indieish/alternative’,methinks, although many genres are entirely related to personal opinion. My current favourite artists are Lauren Aquilina, Bastille and Ella Eyre, with a dash of Sam Smith and BANKS thrown into the mix…
3. Are you the kind of person who is quite content to watch Netflix all day, or do you like being around others?
Probably Netflix, if we had it! I’m pretty happy to go a whole half term without meeting up with schoolfriends…
4. What makes you happiest?
Hmm…tricky one! Vaguely, those really nice moments when you just feel so content and at peace with yourself…being happy makes me happy! Also, having some kind of massive breakthrough with schoolwork, where it’s like a switch is flicked: you go from ‘what the heck does all this mean?’ to ‘YES! HOW DID I NOT GET THIS BEFORE! THIS IS SO EASY!!!’. Love those moments!
5. Do you like animals? Do you have any pets?
I used to have a hamster (whom we discovered dead on the morning of one of my birthday parties…), then a dog who died last year, and we’ve had between 10 and 15 fish for several years now.
6. A book you fondly remember from your childhood and secretly still love?
Hmm…maybe the Rainbow Magic books (you know, ‘Saffron the Yellow Fairy’ and ‘Phoebe the Fashion Fairy’), or maybe Felicity Wishes? I haven’t read either series for waaaayyy too long!
7. If you had to choose between Italian and Japanese food?
Italian. Never really had Japanese, but 100% definitely pizza all the way!
8. Are you meticulous with grammar and inwardly wince at every mistake, or don’t you care?
I really hate when you get a really good post about something, which is then completely ruined by some stupid grammar mistake. I’m seriously meticulous about spelling though – I’m naturally good with spellings, so I find it really difficult not to point out other people’s mistakes!
9. What do you like best about Autumn?
Crunchy leaves, chilly but not freezing days, woolly jumpers and curling up in bed with a good cup of tea.
10. Do you prefer books or e-readers?
Probably books, because it’s so much easier to go back and reread a bit, which can just be a nightmare to find the right spot on an e-reader.
11. Favourite memory as a kid?
AAAAH! CAN’T REMEMBER ANYTHING!!! Erm, maybe this one time I got the train with my dad to meet my uncle and go to the park? Sorry, I really can’t remember!
My Questions:
1. What lyric or quote do you love/think applies to your life?
2. What book has made you experience the widest range of emotions?
3. What do you wish you could do without having to have any training? (e.g. land a space probe on a comet…)
4. What song do you know every single word to? (If you have multiple songs, which is your favourite?)
5. Sticking with the music theme, what is your current favourite music video?
6. Who is your favourite YouTuber/internet personality?
7. Who/what do you desperately want to see live? (theatre, music, comedy…anything!)
8. What is your favourite Christmas advert ever?
9. What life-changing thing do you wish you had invented?
10. What would your dream job be?
11. Which is your favourite season, and what about that season do you like most?
And the nominees are…*drumroll, please*:
 EVERYBODY! I can’t choose, so if you’re a new blogger, or just fancy answering my questions, DO IT! Tell us all about your weird addictions and stuff you can’t stop talking about 🙂
Link back to this post, so I can check your answers out!
An Overthinking Teenager
8 thoughts on “Yay! People Like My Blog! – Sharing The Liebster Love

  1. Anna:. says:

    I definitely agree with you on the music front. (Finally, someone who knows Lauren Aquilina!) I really enjoy reading your blog, and well done on 150 followers!
    Anna x
    -By the way you missed out the first question. But feel free to leave it out if you like…

    Like

Say Hello!

