Nostalgia

I miss school trips where the work seems like the most important thing ever, but actually just doesn’t matter.

I miss GCSEs being so far on the horizon, you can’t even imagine them.

I miss one classroom for every lesson.

I miss the freedom to do what I want, without the pressure of following the crowd.

I miss everybody being friends.

I miss playing with Playmobil or Playdoh or Animal Hospital.

I miss the lack of cliques and gossip.

I miss eating junk food and not feeling judged.

I miss people not caring what they or others look like.

I miss English before analysing poems.

I miss having things done for me.

I miss Angelina Ballerina before it got modern.

I miss a lack of self-consciousness.

I miss cheesy holiday camps.

I miss friendship without complication.

I miss primary school.

But now I’m in secondary school, in my first year of GCSEs. Holiday camps are a thing of the past, and I’m almost constantly self-conscious. My friends are counting the calories constantly, yet I try and ignore them. CBeebies is reserved for sick days only, and friendship is an old battlefield wrought with unexploded grenades. Nobody plays games anymore, breaks are full of gossip. Every action is considered, and insecurity is an old friend.

I miss a lot of things, but everything looks better with hindsight.

 

An Overthinking Teenager

Tell me what you miss.

3 thoughts on “Nostalgia

  1. BearNextDoor says:

    This comment probably defeats the purpose but i found that the last 2 years were the ones that brought everyone so close together and, seeing as i’m not in high school anymore (I’m getting old!) I can only really miss the people that i don’t see anymore. Good luck with your GCSEs (:

    Like

  2. Appletaile says:

    Ah, Angelina Ballerina. 🙂

    I miss only having one kind of homework for each day, and I miss not caring whether people see me with my nose in a book.
    But, to be honest, I prefer secondary school to primary school. Now, it’s a lot easier to avoid people, and I’ve got a really great group of friends. And I’m not even quite into exams yet, so I guess I have the best of both worlds.

    (By the way, I don’t know if you meant to do this, but you wrote about Playmobil and Playdoh twice!)

    Like

    • An Overthinking Teenager says:

      Oops, thanks! Just shows how much I love it 😉 yeah, masses of homework really sucks. I’m only in my first year of GCSEs, but already the teachers are going on about their expectations for us! There are definitely advantages to secondary school, and even GCSEs-more freedom about subjects to study, more options at lunch (more clubs, and in the junior school we weren’t allowed inside at lunch!) – but there are definitely things I miss, though I wonder if they were really that good at the time. Thanks for reading, and for taking the time to comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Say Hello!

