Tracklisting Tuesdays: What’s In My Amazon MP3 Basket?

As it was my birthday last week, I received a fair few Amazon gift vouchers. Now, as a rule of thumb, whenever I get these vouchers they must be hoarded for a loooonggggg time, forgotten about, and excavated from the depths of my bedroom when I have a sudden urge to buy a song I’ve heard a couple of times on the radio and have decided I JUST HAVE to buy it. Hooray for ten-year expiration dates!

Last weekend, preceding my birthday party, I went on a bit of an Amazon mp3 store spending spree. Here are the spoils and my thoughts on them:

ALBUMS

In The Lonely Hour (Deluxe Edition) – Sam Smith

I bought this for a few reasons: a) it was only £4.99 for the mp3 deluxe edition (cheaper than both the physical and mp3 copies of the standard edition), b)I had just bought his single Stay With Me and loved it, c)I had heard a few of his songs on the radio and d) I had seen some of Bastille’s tweets about his music. I haven’t quite listened to it all the way through, but what I have heard I love. His voice is really silkkky and smooooth and hypnooottiiic. Right, back to reality. His voice is very pure, but not annoying (*ahem* Katy B), and perfect for either reading, relaxing or revising-chilled, laid back and calm, just made for a Sunday afternoon.

 

Fools EP – Lauren Aquilina

If you’re a regular reader of my little bloggy corner of the internet, you will be familiar with my liking of Lauren Aquilina (if not, find out a little bit more about her and her music here). The Fools EP was her debut, back in October 2012, and completes the trilogy for me; Fools, Sinners and Liars (Sinners was released in 2013, and Liars in March of this year). I think that Lauren is ammazing, not only because I love her music, but also because she has self-released all three EPs, raising the money through a Saturday job herself, whilst studying for four A-Levels. She has now left school, signed a record deal and very recently signed a songwriting contract. Go Lauren! The Fools EP has four tracks: Fools, Lilo, King and Wonder. The track that pushed me to download the EP was King-it has some truly beautiful and inspiring lyrics including, “count your blessings not your flaws” (got that one on a wristband!), “Glass half empty, glass half full/Well either way you won’t be going thirsty/Count your blessings not your flaws”, “You don’t get what all this is about/You’re too wrapped up in your self doubt/You’ve got that young blood, set it free” and “There’s method in my madness/There’s no logic in your sadness/You don’t gain a single thing from misery/Take it from me”.

I thoroughly recommend downloading the EP, especially as it’s only £1.29. Go on!

 

Now That’s What I Call Music! 89 – Various Artists

This album was pretty much a no-brainer for me.I have all the albums since Now 77 (Excluding ’85), and asked for it for my birthday, so when I didn’t get it it was natural for me to buy it with some of my other presents! I like the majority of the tracks, and the hardest decision was CD or mp3. On the one hand, all the other ones are CD, and I like having the backup physical copy, but the mp3 was cheaper, easier to add to my iPod/phone, and I rarely use my CD player these days. Highlights of it for me are Dr. Who!(Tujamo & Plastik Funk feat. Sneakbo), Move (Little Mix) and Can’t Rely On You (Paloma Faith).

 

SINGLES

Summer – Calvin Harris

A bouncy, catchy and, you guessed it, summery song I love and just can’t get enough of. Judging from the speed with which my sister unearthed a phone connector lead to replace my lost one so she could get it on her phone, nor can my sister!

I Will Never Let You Down – Rita Ora

A poppy, addictive collaboration with Calvin Harris, soak up the virtual sunshine as you listen to this!

Changes – Faul & Wad Ad vs. Pnau (answers on a postcard as to how you pronounce that one please!)

Pretty much the same as above! Anthemic, slightly jazzy…summer in an mp3!

I See Fire – Ed Sheeran (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug)

Chilled and passionate, another Sunday-evening-last-minute-revision must-listen.

Waves – Mr Probz

A summery beachy-picnicky tune. Cannot believe I just wrote that. Oh dear. Listen for yourself-DON’T RELY ON MY QUESTIONABLE DESCRIPTIONS! 🙂

Sweater Weather – The Neighborhood

Heard this through 8tracks radio, a chilled out, Bastille-esque Sunday sleepy song. (WOOO! ALLITERATION! SIBILANCE! CHECK ME OUT, ENGLISH TEACHER!)

Little Talks – Of Monster and Men

A year-old or so song I’ve been meaning to buy (read: indecisive me couldn’t choose whether to get it or not, but Amazon’s recommended songs feature caught me at a weak moment).

It’s On Again – Alicia Keys ft. Kendrick Lamar (The Amazing Spiderman Official Soundtrack)

Heard it on the radio-couldn’t get it out of my head-downloaded it-boom. Efficiency.

(I Just) Died In Your Arms – Bastille

Bastille. ‘Nuff said. A cover of Cutting Crew from 1986, for their label Virgin Records’ fortieth anniversary album Virgin Records:40 Years of Disruptions.

 

What do you think of my choices? MP3 of CD for you? What did you last buy from Amazon?

An Overthinking Teenager

 

One thought on “Tracklisting Tuesdays: What’s In My Amazon MP3 Basket?

  1. littleonionwrites says:

    I haven’t bought music from Amazon in forever! I’m addicted to Spotify! But my last Amazon purchase in general was City of Heavenly Fire 😀 I only recognize a few of these artists. I need to get with the program!

    Like

Say Hello!

