Social Life of a Bookaholic: Can I Get A Woop Woop Over Here Please?

YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY! My local library has reopened after a two year refurbishment. Yes, that’s right, two years. Ouch, I hear the book fans among you say. We did have a temporary library, but it’s nice to have a full-size library back again!

I’m a slight anomaly among book lovers, it seems-I prefer the library over the bookshop. Maybe because I prefer trying a book out before committing to it? Whatever the reason, the last two years have been hard without a real library.

The library actually reopened yesterday, but I only got to go today as I’ve now broken up for half term (can I get a WOOP WOOP  over here, please?). My verdict? Pretty cool, but disappointing teen section. The library now has a cafe (which does THE BEST hot chocolates), an expanded children’s section, several meeting rooms, toilets (!), a bar, a quiet zone and a ‘Fab Lab’ opening this summer! (For the unininitiated, a Fab Lab is going to be a ‘digital fabrication workshop equipped with the latest laser-cutters, CNC routers, 3D scanners, 3D printers, and programming tools, where you can make almost anything’. Nope, I have no idea what a CNC router is either). Pretty cool, huh? The only downsides are that a) there are only 2 machines to return books with and 2 machines to get books out with, and b), given the massive expansion of the library, the teen section sucks. Don’t get me wrong, the books are all lovely and new, but there are only five teen shelves. And two of those are solely for anime/manga novels.  Grrr. Not good.

The library also seemed to have some kind of PS3 thing in the corner of the teen section, which didn’t seem to be working…as my sister said, I bet they don’t have Call Of Duty on that. I’ll update you on the library as I use it more-or at least as I have more hot chocolates there!

What’s your local library like? How often do you visit it?

An Overthinking Teenager

+Featured Image Credit

6 thoughts on “Social Life of a Bookaholic: Can I Get A Woop Woop Over Here Please?

  1. littleonionwrites says:

    Oh my gosh, that sounds AMAZING! My old library had a makeover, too, a few years ago, but it was before I was an avid library-goer. Two years must have been frustrating!

    I’ve learned not to take the teen section for granted. My old library had the best teen section ever. So many teen shelves and manga shelves. It was great. There was also a sitting area for that section. My new library doesn’t have nearly as many books in the YA section (or at least, it looks that way), and it doesn’t really have a designated area where teens can chill. I also miss the self check-out machines, but oh well.

    I visit the library at least once a week. I’d go more often, but there’s too much to do sometimes! I hope you enjoy exploring your refurbished library more 😉

    Like

    • rainbowcakesandrockyroad says:

      Two years felt like forever at the start, but the temporary library was suprisingly good! Although I wish the teen section was better, they are now running loads of cool events, including a Raspberry Pi computer workshop, and have loads of great CDs and DVDs to borrow. I’m lucky in that my school library has a huuuge range of teen and YA books, right at my fingertips-and a few DVDs!
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Say Hello!

