I finally started Harry Potter… A Review of Books 1-3

So, I finalllyyy got round to reading Harry Potter…at age 13. I was given the first three in the series when I was born, but when I grew older, I never really got into them in the same way as my sister and several of my friends. I read the first two a few years back, but never got round to the third…partly due to a lack of time, and partly because (this makes me sound a but silly) I was a little bit scared of Voldemort.Or, more accurately, of having nightmares about Voldemort.

harry_potter_comedy_by_aiiagreshii16-d4p7tvt

Anyway, for whatever reason, at the start of this week I was  seized with the sudden desire to read the first Harry Potter. I did, and finished it within two days. The same happened with the second in the series. For the third, however, I believe I may even have broken a personal record –  finished in under 24 hours! I started it on Thursday after school (anything to avoid confronting the dreadful reality of my history homework and English revision. I mean, who knew you had to revise for English? Anyway, I digress.), had read 200 pages before I finally got round to starting homework (Mum, you didn’t read that!), and had finished it by 5 o’clock on Friday. As I said, considering that annoying thing called school lumped in the middle, a pretty impressive time.

Having exhausted my personal supply of Harry Potter, I now need to dig out the family copies of the others, so thought I would write a review for my blog whilst I was temporarily detached from a book. Overall, I loved the books, and they absolutely captivated my attention, so much so that I may have been sighted putting shoes on whilst reading, I couldn’t bear to put it down. By the end of the second book, I was beginning to recognize the formulaic layout of Rowling’s books, but the third book kept me reading, and seemed to have a slight change to the formula. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but I felt that the third book just had a new ingredient added to it, making the recipe for a good book just that bit sweeter. It may have had something to do with the fact that I liked the way that, this time, the predicted confrontation between villain and hero also involved hero’s sidekicks, Ron and Hermione, and that for once, Harry wasn’t under a death threat and was instead trying to prove the innocence of the supposed baddie (Sirius Black).

I loved the complex, yet easily followed, twisting plot lines, weaving the book into an unforgettable plait of suspense and enjoyment. I  highly enjoyed the way Rowling disclosed a little more information about Harry’s background in the shape of his father’s time at Hogwarts, Snape’s hatred and Sirius’ godfather-shaped bombshell, and the further exploration of the magical community,with the trio’s (partially illegal) forays into Hogsmeade.

The Harry Potter books are, as many critics have rightfully pointed out, a timeless classic for all ages, with an endless supply of possibilities for spin-offs and prequels-I loved the quote on the back of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (book number one), saying Harry Potter had ‘all the makings of a classic’. That reviewer certainly had psychic powers to rival Sybil Trelawney! I am hugely looking forward to reading at least part of the remainder of the series feel free to let me know in the comments which  has been your favourite book of the series, and why.

An Overthinking Teenager

Say Hello!

